Old Bridge

South Petherton

UKbride 5 Heart Rating
5 EXCELLENT
13 Reviews

Information For Old Bridge

Old Bridge is a 16th Century Elizabethan manor house, located in rural south Somerset. Surrounded by two acres of enchanting wooded grounds and gardens, it is the perfect backdrop for your special day

We offer wedding ceremonies at any time of the year - in the great hall of the house, where seating is possible for up to 75, or outside by the front Porch, where numbers are unlimited.

From May to September, our magnificent marquee is available for receptions. Seating up to 200, with wooden floor, lining, carpet, heating, dimmable crystal chandeliers, up-lighting and fairy lights throughout, stage and dance floor, catering section, tables and chairs - it is ready for you to arrange and decorate as you wish.

The elegant gardens and wooded area are for your guests to enjoy and there are many photo opportunities to catch those special memories.

There is plenty of parking, all level, so everywhere is 'disabled friendly' and we have proper loos, including for disabled and baby changing.

We very much encourage you to arrange the décor both in the marquee and out around the garden if you wish, the catering of your choice, and of course the musical entertainment. And there are no corkage charges here.

You will have exclusive use of the marquee, gardens and grounds with access to the venue at least the day before to prepare and install everything you want, and also on the day after to clear down and collect any belongings.

We want to offer you a high quality and unique bespoke experience in a friendly flexible atmosphere, and that’s what you will find. No hidden extras - what you see is what you get, and no VAT.

We have some fantastic reviews from our Brides and Grooms, please take a read...

‘Thank you so much for everything you did for us at our wedding. Old Bridge is just stunning and really made our day just perfect - it was everything we ever wanted in a venue! Thank you for all the work you put in to making our day so special.’
Jenny & Lee. 12th May 2018

‘Thank you so much for all your hard work getting the venue ready for our big day, it was everything we had hoped for. Your house made the perfect backdrop to our professional photos - everyone loved your venue and we have had so many lovely comments.'
Kathryn & David. 9th June 2018

‘We both just wanted to say the biggest thank you for helping us to make our big day everything we wanted & more!! You were all such incredibly welcoming hosts and made everything easy for us in the beautiful surroundings of your home! Thank you!
Kay & Kyle. 14th July 2018

We look forward to hearing from you and being a part of your big day.


Old Bridge at a Glance

Price Range icon
Price Range
P.O.A
Bedroom Count icon
Bedrooms
N/A
Venue Type icon
Type of Venue
Stately Home
Exclusive Use
Same-Sex Weddings
Woodland Weddings
Seating Capacity icon
Seated Capacity
Up to 180
Reception Capacity Icon
Reception Capacity
Up to 250
Freedom to plan your bespoke wedding ceremony and reception Access the day before and day after to set up and take down Your own caterers with no corkage or VAT Magnificent fully equipped marquee with carpet, lighting and heating Proper loos, baby changing and full disabled access Large level adjacent car park Pricing Category : ModerateBridal Suite : Changing OnlyCountry House Manor HouseNo of Weddings Hosted : Number of Weddings Hosted - Betwen 10 and 30Location : In The CountrysideNearest Town : Yeovil View More
Nearest Airport : BristolNearest Motorway : M5Nearest Train Station : CrewkerneUniqueConfetti PermittedOpen Flame PermittedIn House DancefloorCeremony LicenceAlcohol LicenseBYOB PermittedBartendingExternal Catering PermittedTables And Chairs ProvidedMarquee Wedding SpecialistPublic Liability InsuranceBridal Changing FacilitiesDisabled AccessExclusive UseGrade Listed BuildingLandscaped GardensOnsite ParkingOutdoor SpaceBlank CanvasLovely GroundsGarden OutdoorSame-SexWoodland View Less

Top Wedding Tips

Think outside the box – do not feel constrained by ideas of a ‘conventional’ wedding reception. These days, anything is possible and we can help you make it possible.

Be careful not to over-cater – we have seen a lot of wastage particularly with evening food – think about cooked-on-demand food like wood fired pizzas, crepes or burgers as an alternative.

Children get bored at weddings, and then they get up to mischief – consider paying someone to entertain them during the day, or at least during the speeches.

Old Bridge Reviews

Add Review
Avg. Rating
5 EXCELLENT
UKbride 5 Heart Rating
13 Reviews
Sort Reviews By
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Chloe Knight
Review Date
12 Sep 2019
Old Bridge is the most stunning setting for the rustic country wedding we wanted, John and Liz are so lovely and helpful with achieving exactly what you want. Our guests commented on how gorgeous the setting was and the swing in the garden was a particular favourite! Thank you for helping make our special day look so beautiful.
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Lisa Louise
Review Date
20 Aug 2019
Wow! We got married at Old Bridge earlier this month and the whole day was perfect. An amazing venue which allows you to create your ideal wedding. John and Liz (and family) are incredibly helpful, friendly and professional. Lots of lovely comment from guests. Thank you for allowing us to create a perfect day.
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Vikki Dominguez
Review Date
06 Aug 2019
Just the most amazing venue for our wedding John and Liz are so helpful and never far away for any questions you have. The venue is absolutely stunning, every single one of our guests commented on how gorgeous the setting was. The marquee is a complete blank canvas and it’s fantastic to see your dream wedding come to life. Thank you
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Alannah Dixon
Review Date
03 Jul 2019
We first stumbled across the Old Bridge shortly after we got engaged and organised a visit, from that moment on we absolutely fell in love with this amazing venue and we knew it was the one! What a hidden little gem! Not to mention how accommodating and just overall amazing people John, Liz & their lovely family are. From the moment of booking with them to the actual wedding day they were an absolute pleasure to deal with, always there to help and just show such genuine care for your wedding day. We loved having the freedom of decorating the beautiful marquee and surrounding areas, supplying our own catering so we could have exactly what we wanted and it made our dream of having an outside ceremony reality. We really could say so much about this amazing venue, the list is never ending!! We truly thank you from the bottom of our hearts John, Liz and your wonderful family for letting us use your beautiful home and letting our dream become a reality, giving us the chance to have the most perfect day that both we and our family and friends will truly cherish forever. We wish you all the luck in future years not that you will need it, as soon as people meet you/see The Old Bridge it will capture their hearts as it has ours. Alannah & Danny xx
Response from Old Bridge
Thank you so much for your lovely words. It was a real pleasure hosting your family and friends at Old Bridge, and beautiful feedback like yours makes it all worthwhile!Lots of love to you both x
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Harriet Morgan
Review Date
16 Jul 2018
Old Bridge was a dream come true, we couldn’t recommend this wedding venue enough. We got married 07/07/18 on a glorious, very hot summers day! We would like to send a massive thank you to John and Liz and family for having us and sharing your beautiful home as our wedding venue! Our guests were stunned with this hidden gem, as nobody had heard of this place before, so when they arrived it completely blew everybody away, it exceeded our expectations completely! I absolutely loved the freedom of decorating such a beautiful place and creating a wedding completely personalised to you as a couple! Our wedding felt completely unique to us and if that’s what you’re looking for, Old Bridge definitely has that! We thank you from the bottom of our hearts, always a special place to us! Mr and Mrs Morgan xx
Response from Old Bridge
Thank you Harriet. That is what we aim to provide.
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Livia Kirk
Review Date
07 Jul 2018
Old Bridge was the perfect venue for our wedding. The ability to make the day completely how we wanted it was exactly what we were looking for and is so rare in the area. John and Liz were on hand to help throughout and the location, gardens and marquee were stunning. We can’t thank Old Bridge enough for helping us have our dream day! Mr & Mrs Kirk
Response from Old Bridge
You are very welcome. Thank you for the review.
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Jenny Sparks
Review Date
16 May 2018
We first found Old Bridge shortly after we got engaged and fell in love with the venue straight away, it was everything we wanted. We would like to thank John, Liz and their team for going the extra mile with everything that they did for us and help make the day so special. From the countless times we went to see the venue to all their help on the big day – nothing was too much! All our guests complemented on how stunning the venue was, it was a dream come true! Highly recommend Old Bridge as a wedding venue and we will certainly be spreading the word to our friends! Love the new Mr & Mrs Sparks x
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Favier Beats
Review Date
23 Sep 2017
Where Wedding Dreams come true. We can't thank Old Bridge enough for their support and help throughout our wedding experience. Stunning Venue, Amazing owners and a venue that suits all guests needs. Old Bridge will always have a place in our hearts. Thank you John and Liz. Love Favier, Dave and the rest of the family.
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Jemma Henwood
Review Date
21 Sep 2017
From the moment we had the crazy idea of planning our wedding in 6 tiny months and came to view Old Bridge I knew there was no where else...Even on a bleak March afternoon!! The house and gardens are picture perfect, the marquee is beautiful even when empty. John and Liz offer everything as a blank canvas for you to create the day you wish... And in this case less is more as the venue says it all. Nothing was too much trouble and our day really so personal to us, it matched our family and Personality and was utterly perfect. Thank you John and Liz for sharing your beautiful house and making our wedding planning experience so simple and easy. Xxx
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Josh Radford
Review Date
12 Sep 2017
A massive massive thank you to these guys for letting us have our wedding here on Saturday . They couldn't do enough and nothing was too much trouble. It's such a beautiful place, And I couldn't recommend them highly enough. This was the perfect place to have our special day !
View More Reviews

Videos

Old Bridge

Old Bridge

Old Bridge

Accreditations

UKbride Approved Supplier
UKbride Approved Supplier

Map

Old Bridge, South Petherton, Somerset, TA13 5JE

Old Bridge

  • Old Bridge
  • South Petherton
  • Somerset
  • TA13 5JE
  • United Kingdom

Meet the Owner

Image of Key Person John & Liz Blake
John & Liz Blake

We are the owners of Old Bridge and started our wedding business after our eldest daughter got married here in 2010. John has recently retired from Danone (Cow&Gate) and we have built up the business with the additional time he now has at home. Liz still works part time for the NHS, and is very much involved with the business - in fact all our family are, as we are lucky they all live fairly locally. Our message to our brides is simple - 'this is the day you have been dreaming of and we want it to be just as you imagined. We are here to help and advise as much or as little as you wish, and we offer you as much freedom as possible to plan and deliver a day to remember for the rest of your lives.' Look at the comments from some of our couples and do come and see us.