Missenden Abbey

Great Missenden

UKbride 5 Heart Rating
5 EXCELLENT
55 Reviews

Information For Missenden Abbey

When you are looking for a stunning backdrop for your wedding celebrations, Missenden Abbey never fails to impress; set amidst 10 acres of private grounds, this 12th century medieval abbey perfectly blends history with today’s contemporary wedding celebrations.

You may choose to marry at Missenden Abbey in the Library or Garden Room, both licensed for civil weddings and partnerships. Alternatively, marry at one of the local churches, before travelling over to Missenden Abbey to celebrate with family and friends.

Wedding celebrations begin with champagne and canapés before heading into our dining rooms with vaulted ceilings and stained glass windows, or our beautifully dressed marquee, all setting the scene for a fantastic wedding breakfast. Our kitchen team pride themselves in producing delicious seasonal menus, utilising the abundance of home-grown and locally sourced produce, and our Head Chef will happily meet with you in the planning stages to discuss your menu choices.

Once the formalities of speeches and toasts are complete, guests are invited to retire from the dining rooms to begin the evening celebrations with the entertainment of your choice.

Choosing to celebrate your marriage at Missenden Abbey you’ll benefit from having a dedicated wedding coordinator throughout the planning stages to assist you, a front of house team to welcome your guests and ensure that every little detail is taken care of throughout your wedding day, leaving you to revel in your wedding celebrations with family and friends.

Memorable weddings happen at Missenden Abbey – let us be your wedding venue partner for an unforgettable day.

Missenden Abbey at a Glance

Price Range icon
Price Range
P.O.A
Bedroom Count icon
Bedrooms
30
Venue Type icon
Type of Venue
Historic
Stately Home
Unique Venue
Exclusive Use
Marquee Weddings
Same-Sex Weddings
Seating Capacity icon
Seated Capacity
Up to 115
Reception Capacity Icon
Reception Capacity
Up to 220
Historical 12th Century Abbey 500 year old Cedar tree in our picturesque grounds Functon rooms with stained glass windows and high vaulted ceilings Exclusive use 57 en-suite bedrooms on site Dedicated wedding co-ordinator Pricing Category : AffordableMinimum Price : 4Reception Capacity ( Indoor / Outdoor ) : 220Seated Dining Capacity ( Indoor or Outdoor ) : 115Has AccommodationBridal Suite : Honeymoon Suite View More
Sleeps No Of People : 2HistoricCountry House Manor HouseWedding Contact : Natasha Stevenson-VenutiNumber of People In Team : 3No of Weddings Hosted : Number of Weddings Hosted - More Than 50Location : In The CountrysideNearest Town : High WycombeNearest Airport : HeahtrowNearest Motorway : M40Nearest Train Station : Great MissendenChurch Within Walking DistanceLandmarkUnique Wedding VenueAffordableUnusualClassicIntimateAsianConfetti PermittedFireworks PermittedIn House DancefloorCeremony LicenceAlcohol LicenseCorkage ChargeAlcohol ProvisionExternal Catering PermittedIn House CateringIn House Wine ListBuffet StyleClean UpPre-Wedding ConsultationSeated MealSet UpStaff ProvidedTables And Chairs ProvidedTableware ProvidedTastingsSound Systems Available Ceremony MusicReception MusicPackageFull Service PlanningMarquee Wedding SpecialistOn The Day Wedding CoordinationPublic Liability InsuranceBridal Changing FacilitiesDisabled AccessExclusive UseGrade Listed BuildingIn House Wedding CoordinatorLandscaped GardensMarquee or Tipi PermittedOnsite ParkingOutdoor SpaceWater ViewGreat ViewsLovely GroundsRomanticRusticStylishConference CentreGarden OutdoorSame-Sex View Less

Missenden Abbey Reviews

Add Review
Avg. Rating
5 EXCELLENT
UKbride 5 Heart Rating
55 Reviews
Sort Reviews By
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Louisa
Wedding Date
21 Sep 2019
The most perfect, magical, incredible wedding day
Well what can I say but a huge thank you to you and all the staff at Missenden Abbey for making it the most perfect, magical, incredible wedding day for Alice and Tom. We loved the day from start to finish. The Abbey looked beautiful in the sunshine not a cloud in the sky, we were so lucky with the weather. The drinks and canapés on the lawn was like having a private garden party. The wedding breakfast was really delicious, please pass on a huge thank you to the chef and all the staff. The evening buffet looked incredible and the way they displayed the cheese was perfect too. The disco was such fun and the dancefloor was full all evening. It only seems yesterday when we met you in January and managed to get the date in September secured for their wedding. Natasha, thank you so much for making it run so smoothly and for all your hard work from behind the scenes. You were the most amazing wedding coordinator
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Becky & Scott
Wedding Date
07 Sep 2019
The Most Perfect Day
I just wanted to say a huge thank you for everything! We had the most perfect day and had amazing feedback from our guests regarding the food and venue! I can’t thank you enough for all your help with everything, it’s been such a pleasure using the abbey for our wedding!
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Leonie & Chris
Wedding Date
30 Aug 2019
A Big Thank You
We wanted to say a big thank you to Kathy and the Missenden Abbey team for making our day so special. The marquee was beautiful, staff were friendly and the food was excellent.
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Vicki & Simon
Wedding Date
03 Aug 2019
Absolutely Beautiful
‘My husband and I had our wedding at Missenden Abbey in August 2019 and would recommend it to everyone. The venue is absolutely beautiful and as soon as you make your way down the drive, you can see it’s well kept gardens no matter what time of year it is. The inside of the Abbey has a modern feel yet still has some of its historic characteristics which is a reminder of it’s interesting past. The staff are just as beautiful as the venue and were so supportive and helpful throughout the whole planning process. One of the ways we chose our suppliers was by the relationship we built with them and how efficient they were. We felt so comfortable emailing and talking to the staff there, personally and over the phone, even with the most small and minor queries which were always answered promptly and with a ‘nothing is a problem’ attitude. Our wedding coordinator, Kathy, was a superstar not only through the planning process but throughout the whole day and even afterwards. Our day was so well organised and all of our guests, and ourselves, were taken care of by all of the staff. Not only were the staff fantastic, but compared to other venues, we felt that Missenden Abbey’s wedding packages were better value for money and with more included. From the use of their beautiful marquee to the inclusion of their brilliant resident DJ, we had everything we had wanted and within our budget. We cannot thank Missenden Abbey enough for everything that they have done for us over the 2 years of planning and highly recommend them for any type of event.’
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Sarah
Wedding Date
31 May 2019
May Wedding 2019
I could not fault Missenden Abbey which was the perfect venue for my daughter’s wedding on 31st May 19. I booked the wedding at short notice and was amazed how everything turned out despite the tight timelines. This would not have been such a success without the great attitude of the staff and wedding planners, in particular Natasha who was absolutely fantastic. She catered for our needs responded to our requests and suggested great ideas to ensure the day was faultless. Thank you so much Missenden Abbey and staff for ensuring the wedding guests had a fantastic time. Memories of a lifetime! Thank you so much! If anyone is thinking of Missenden Abbey as their wedding venue, I highly recommend it.
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Jo & Caz
Wedding Date
18 May 2019
Massive Thank You
I wanted to drop you a note, to say a MASSIVE THANK YOU - for everything to ensure we had the most amazing day - everything was perfect, and we had the BESTEST day!! - We are both still buzzing from it!! Please send our thanks on also to the other staff on the day, we could not have asked for it to have gone any better!!!
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Jenny & Chris
Wedding Date
23 Mar 2019
The Perfect Wedding Day
Thank you for giving us the perfect wedding day, we couldn't have asked for a more perfect day x
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Laura Hounslow
Review Date
17 Nov 2018
We had our wedding here at the end of October and the day was absolutely perfect. The location is beautiful and the food was outstanding. Natasha and the rest of the staff helped us have our perfect day and we wouldn't change a thing. We would definitely recommend Missenden Abbey to any future bride and grooms.
Response from Missenden Abbey
Hi Laura, thank you so much for your review - it means the world to us . Wishing you all the best for your future & we hope to see you at the Abbey again soon x
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Laura & Danny Hounslow
Wedding Date
27 Oct 2018
We wouldn’t change a thing
We had an absolutely phenomenal wedding day, only made better by the flawless service we received throughout. The day was perfect from start to finish and Natasha and the team ensured that we didn’t want for anything.
The food was incredible and presented really well. The whole venue is so beautiful and made for some absolutely stunning photos.
We couldn’t have asked for more for the start of our married life together. I would recommend the Abbey to anyone in a heartbeat!
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Jamie and Emily
Wedding Date
13 Oct 2018
The Best Day of Our Lives
We had our Wedding at Missenden Abbey last month and had the most magical day. The team made us feel completely comfortable and managed to get everything looking exactly how we imagined. It was perfect and the day went without any issues. Our guests complimented the amazing food and venue and support we had throughout the day. Would definitely recommend this awesome team and venue.
View More Reviews

Real Weddings

Missenden Abbey Real Weddings
The Real Wedding of
Eileen and Mitch

Awards

Won Silver for the Bridebook Wedding Awards in 2018
Won Silver for the Bridebook Wedding Awards in 2018
Won gold for the Bridebook Wedding Awards in 2019
Won gold for the Bridebook Wedding Awards in 2019

Accreditations

UKbride Approved Supplier
UKbride Approved Supplier

Map

Missenden Abbey, London Road, Great Missenden, Buckinghamshire, HP16 0BD

Missenden Abbey

  • Missenden Abbey
  • London Road
  • Great Missenden
  • Buckinghamshire
  • HP16 0BD
  • United Kingdom

Meet the Wedding Coordinator

Image of Key Person Natasha Stevenson-Venuti
Natasha Stevenson-Venuti

First of all, congratulations on your engagement! It's an exciting time filled with Pinterest boards, folded corners in magazines, dress/suit shopping and the whirlwind adventure of searching for your perfect venue. We would love to share your wedding planning journey with you and invite you to visit the historical and stunning Missenden Abbey to see how we can help your day be truly unforgettable. Please contact myself, Natasha, on 01494 866811 if you would like to arrange a visit. We hope to welcome you at the Abbey very soon.