Hedingham Castle

Castle Hedingham

UKbride 5 Heart Rating
5 EXCELLENT
190 Reviews

Information For Hedingham Castle

Romantic, beautiful, ancient, historic and wild, Hedingham Castle is somewhere to set your imagination free.

The 900 year old Norman keep stands in 160 acres of spectacularly beautiful landscaped gardens and fairy tale woodland.

Privately owned by the Lindsay family, descendants of the original owners, the renowned and influential DeVeres, its character is unique, and its history runs deep with royal connections.

Hedingham Castle at a Glance

Price Range icon
Price Range
P.O.A
Bedroom Count icon
Bedrooms
N/A
Venue Type icon
Type of Venue
Historic
Castle
Seating Capacity icon
Seated Capacity
Contact Venue
Reception Capacity Icon
Reception Capacity
Up to 150
Hedingham Castle is a 900 year old Norman Keep, steeped in history Alongside the Keep, stands the 300 year old Georgian Mansion House, overlooking the formal terraces and lawns sweeping down to a tree lined lake Ceremonies are held in the candle-lit Banqueting Hall of the Keep, the finest Norman interior in England, where the owners ancestors once entertained Elizabeth I Larger Receptions can be held in the Tulip Marquee, with the drinks being served in the silk lined splendour of the Ashurst room, from where the Hall leads through to the terrace and lawns beyond. For smaller receptions, and for the in love with the romance of the Norman Keep, the wedding party will descend one floor following the ceremony and dine int he magnificent Tapestry Room of the Castle. For the bridal party, in it’s own Orchard, in a secluded corner of the Hedingham Estate is the Garden Cottage whilst, nearby the Lodge has room for up to seventeen people and is a most convenient and hospitable place for friends and family members to stay HistoricCastle

Current Promotions

Exclusive Promotion:

We are offering an all inclusive drinks package for select dates in 2019! Please contact for more information.

Top Wedding Tips

Listen to the coordinators. They have a wealth of experience and are best placed to ensure your perfect day goes as planned.

Be flexible. Don’t put too much pressure on yourself. The most important thing is that you and your guests enjoy your day. We can help you every step of the way

Enjoy yourself. Your social day is all about you. Our coordinators will deal with everything so that you can relax and make the most of your day

Hedingham Castle Reviews

Add Review
Avg. Rating
5 EXCELLENT
UKbride 5 Heart Rating
190 Reviews
Sort Reviews By
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Rosie Reeves
Review Date
03 Sep 2019
Hedingham Castle was the perfect venue for my wedding last month. All the staff were professional and very attentive. They made our day run smoothly and we felt relaxed throughout. I highly recommend having your wedding here!
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Helen Noakes
Review Date
08 Apr 2019
We were lucky enough to get married at Hedingham Castle in March and it was the most perfect, memorable day of our lives. We booked our wedding 10 months ago and the communication has been outstanding from start to finish. I hardly felt any stress or anxiety throughout as Sarah was so efficient and organised and always answered any questions we had promptly. Jackie was our co-ordinator on the day and I can’t speak highly enough of how stunning she made the venue look and how much time and effort went into ensuring our wedding was perfect. Jackie took away any stress by setting up everything, I can’t believe how relaxed I felt on the morning of the wedding as I knew all aspects of the day were in hand. The grounds and castle are just breathtaking and we were lucky enough to have stunning weather to get the most beautiful outside photos with our photographer. The supplier recommendations from the castle were equally amazing. The food was outstanding by Arabella Reeve, stunning photography by David Bradford, Scintillo String Quartet set the atmosphere beautifully during the ceremony and drinks reception, Jethro our DJ was great in the evening and Emma and Karen made the morning getting ready perfect doing our hair and makeup. They ensured all of us were ready in time along with our cottage co-ordinator who couldn’t have been more lovely and helpful. The suppliers also knew the running of the day which is why we chose to use the suggested list provided. We had no doubts about anyone we had booked. We can’t fault a single thing from our wedding day, it was perfect from start to finish and everything ran smoothly. Thank you so much for making our dream wedding come true, we haven’t stopped reminiscing about our day since. All of the staff are a credit to Hedingham Castle and true professionals. I can’t wait to get our professional photographs back now! — with Richard Noakes.
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Hannah Murphy
Review Date
29 Mar 2019
We had the most perfect wedding here in November! The grounds are so beautiful and filled with colour in Autumn making for gorgeous photos!! Who wouldn't want to get married in a castle!? Dream come true
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Liza Heywood
Review Date
01 Mar 2019
We were married here in 2nd February 2019. We had the time of our lives thanks to the staff at Hedingham Castle. Perfect day. Thank you
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Matthew & Suzanne
Wedding Date
04 Oct 2018
Magical day
From first viewing to sitting down with Sarah, everyone was just fantastic & so helpful & understanding, such a beautiful place too. Our day was perfect & ran smoothly with Sarah & gang advising us every step of the way. An overwhelming yet astounding place to be.
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Harriet Georgina Buckland
Review Date
04 Oct 2018
We got married at hedingham on 29.9.18 and I can truley say we had the best day I could have ever imagined the venue and their staff were flawless from beginning to end! I’ll be coming back to visit on the events days and as my guests said they had the best day ever too they’ll be coming back for visits too! I cannot thank you enough :)
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Bridge Flooring
Review Date
01 Oct 2018
Had our wedding here 28/04/2018 what an amazing venue! Amanda and her team made a big wedding very easy from start to finish. Thank you
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Russell Taylor
Review Date
14 Jul 2018
I got married on the 11th July this year at St Nicholas Church in Hedingham and had our reception in the Marquee at Hedingham castle. We had a fantastic time. You get what you pay for. Location, staff, food and entertainment were second to none. Thank you Lauren. Thank you from Clare Taylor, nee Ivory and Russell Taylor.
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Sneha Singh
Review Date
09 Jul 2018
My husband and I got married at Hedingham Castle on 23.06.18 We were truly lucky enough to secure one of the few remaining dates left in 2018 which in turn only gave us 3-4months to prepare! We couldn’t have asked for a better team! A special thank you to Lauren and Amanda- they made it so easy for us and supported us through the whole process! Most people would gasp at the thought of planning something in a short time but with the amazing team at Hedingham it was just a breeze and they were an absolute joy to work with. The location itself I believe is the most beautiful venue where one could get married. All our guests had an amazing time. Many of them told us that it was the best wedding they have ever been to! We had a civil ceremony and a Hindu ceremony on the same day. The stunning interiors of the castle made a beautiful setting for both. We had both the ceremonies in different rooms and really made use of this magical venue. We were extremely lucky to have both Lauren and Amanda with us on the day and they made me like I had two of my oldest and dearest friends with me (touching up my hair when needed and even helping me with outfit changes!) The marquee has been recently renovated and it’s the best marquee we have come across. The grounds are meticulously kept and the all the staff are just amazing! We hired out both cottages for our guests and nobody wanted to leave at the end. There simply aren’t enough words to describe how amazing the whole process was. Hedingham Castle is a breathtakingly spectacular venue and the dedicated team make it even better. We used their recommended suppliers for our wedding and they were also fantastic (Lewis Cabuche, Jethro, Lovely wedding touches, Cakes glorious cakes) We couldn’t have imagined a better team. We can’t wait to go back and visit and hope to host our 1st year anniversary party there (any excuse to go back!!) Thank you so much! Mr and Mrs Brindus.x
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Jane and Robbie Stern
Wedding Date
16 Mar 2018
Truly remarkable place to get married
We had an amazing wedding day and we were so impressed by the professionalism and service we received at Hedingham Castle. Hedingham is a truly remarkable place to get married and you all helped to make it a day we will never forget.
View More Reviews

Real Weddings

Hedingham Castle Real Weddings
The Real Wedding of
Jenna and Connor

Awards

Wedding Venue Of The Year- Heritage. Essex Wedding Awards 2017/2018
Wedding Venue Of The Year- Heritage. Essex Wedding Awards 2017/2018
Wedding Venue Of The Year-Something Different! Essex Wedding Awards 2016
Wedding Venue Of The Year-Something Different! Essex Wedding Awards 2016

Accreditations

UKbride Approved Supplier
UKbride Approved Supplier

Map

Bayley Street, Castle Hedingham, Essex, CO9 3DJ

Hedingham Castle

  • Bayley Street
  • Castle Hedingham
  • Essex
  • CO9 3DJ
  • United Kingdom

Meet the Wedding Coordinator

Image of Key Person Lottie Riches
Lottie Riches

At Hedingham Castle we understand that the whole planning journey can feel at times rather intimidating. We are here to help. Offering you our vast knowledge and advice, ensuring that your planning process is enjoyable and stress free every step of the way. Every wedding is different, it is our objective to ensure that everyone has the best possible experience in creating a day that exceeds your dreams. At Hedingham we pride ourselves on our flawless attention to detail providing all the personal touches to create a day that you and your loved ones will never forget.