Peckforton Castle

Tarporley

UKbride 4.9 Heart Rating
4.9 EXCELLENT
39 Reviews

Information For Peckforton Castle

Originally the home of Lord Tollemache and built in the early 19th Century, Peckforton Castle is the only intact medieval style Castle in the country.

Passing through the country lanes of Cheshire you can view the Castle on top of the Peckforton Hills from quite a distance away, be it that the surrounding forest hides all but a small part. As you turn off the lane and pass through the magnificent gate house, your journey is almost complete but the amazing experience continues. The meandering driveway takes you through the forest which in itself is of special scientific interest and then suddenly through the trees appears a large but beautiful fairytale castle.

An enchanting castle, captivating architecture, steeped in history will truly delight you and your guests. A magical backdrop for amazing pictures and videos, all combined with delicious award winning food and drink, and impeccable and considered service. You will be the only wedding at the Castle making your day a true fairy tale. Be it a civil wedding or civil partnership (both of which we are licensed for), traditional church ceremony, or planning just a small intimate day, Peckforton Castle truly is a fairytale setting for a memorable wedding.

With a choice of packages and rooms able to accommodate from 10 to 275 guests, stunning bedrooms, Tranquility for pampering, or Falconry for something a little out of the ordinary, Peckforton Castle will not disappoint. Peckforton Castle can make the most important day of your life even more special. Hold your wedding and wedding breakfast in this most breathtaking of venues; revel in the idyllic views of Cheshire. You can even take over the Castle exclusively for the day. The Castle grounds, the red sandstone walls, the mosaic floors, the vaulted dining rooms and the log burning stoves all make for vibrant photo opportunities whatever the weather. We host civil ceremonies, and our four licensed rooms can cater for any number of guests from 10 to 165 (Any day of the week).

You can mingle with your guests on the manicured lawn in front of the Castle using the Coach House as a perfect setting for reception drinks and photographs. If the weather is predictably ‘British’ then enjoy your canapés and drinks in the comfort of our Long Gallery. Peckforton Castle can offer a choice of four private rooms to host your wedding breakfast. All rooms are versatile with various seating options to cater for small or large parties.

We have a choice of rooms for your evening reception and can cater for as many as 275 guests. Our wedding team is happy to discuss your individual needs and requirements and tailor the event to you. This is all part of our personalised service. The Long gallery with its bar gives a comfortable but quieter location for those guests who want a change from the music (If using the Drawing room or Great Hall).

Unique Happenings - Every Wedding is different and every couple wants a unique element that will make their day just that extra bit special. Here at Peckforton, we already offer one of the most unique wedding settings, so why not take a look at some of the extras that can really put the finishing touch to your day. Family Friendly We pride ourselves on our reputation for welcoming families. For your wedding day we are happy to convert the library into a crèche for younger guests. For any of the above services or to discuss some of your own then please contact our dedicated wedding coordinators who will be happy to help. An Experience for All The seclusion of our grounds means we can offer a bespoke range of activities for your guests including 4 x 4 off road driving experiences, archery, abseiling and medieval theming and banquets.

The magnificent grounds of Peckforton Castle lend themselves to a wide range of interesting and challenging activities that can be enjoyed by wedding groups. Whether you prefer the quiet skill and strength of archery or adrenaline-packed experiences, we have activities to suit all preferences and age ranges.

• 5 unique function rooms licensed for civil ceremonies and civil partnerships
• 48 individually designed and beautifully appointed bedrooms
• Dedicated wedding coordinators to support, advise and help plan your big day with you
• 3 AA rosette restaurant, bespoke menus can be created to personalise your wedding day
• Individual function rooms can be hired or you have the option to hire the whole castle exclusively – options to suit all budgets
• Tranquility spa available for pampering the day before and also bridal makeup and hair on the day


Peckforton Castle at a Glance

Price Range icon
Price Range
P.O.A
Bedroom Count icon
Bedrooms
48
Venue Type icon
Type of Venue
Hotel Weddings
Castle
Seating Capacity icon
Seated Capacity
Up to 165
Reception Capacity Icon
Reception Capacity
Up to 165
You can take over the Castle exclusively for the day. We host civil ceremonies, and our four licensed rooms can cater for any number of guests from 10 to 165 (Any day of the week). You can mingle with your guests on the manicured lawn in front of the Castle using the Coach House as a perfect setting for reception drinks and photographs. We have a choice of rooms for your evening reception and can cater for as many as 275 guests. Our wedding team is happy to discuss your individual needs and requirements and tailor the event to you. As a family run business we can offer a bespoke package based on your requirements and room hire may be flexible subject to your preferred dates and guest numbers. We have a dedicated team here at Peckforton Castle to guide you through all aspects of your special day. With many years of experience they will listen, advise and record all your requirements and work with you to create your perfect day. Reception Capacity ( Indoor / Outdoor ) : 165Seated Dining Capacity ( Indoor or Outdoor ) : 165CastleWedding Contact : [email protected]Location : In The CountrysideNearest Town : Tarporley View More
Nearest Airport : ManchesterNearest Motorway : M6Nearest Train Station : Crewe or ChesterCeremony LicenceGrade Listed BuildingOnsite ParkingOutdoor SpaceSpa OnsiteLovely GroundsRomanticHotel View Less

Peckforton Castle Reviews

Add Review
Avg. Rating
4.9 EXCELLENT
UKbride 4.9 Heart Rating
39 Reviews
Sort Reviews By
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Scott Rowland
Review Date
30 Aug 2019
An absolute dream venue with amazing staff. Everyone who worked there worked to a high standard and made are wedding beyond perfect. Thank You all so much
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Keith Garnett
Review Date
25 Oct 2018
Got married here. Everything is amazing. Staff, food, venue
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Judith Dearden
Review Date
09 Oct 2018
An amazing castle so lovely and we had a gorgeous wedding
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Alice and Jonathan
Wedding Date
07 Aug 2018
The most magical, amazing wedding venue
Our wedding day was absolutely amazing thanks to the fantastic staff at Peckforton castle. They made sure that myself and my husband were looked after for the day before the wedding, the wedding day and the day after. They kept checking on us to make sure that we had everything that we needed and were very calming. They made sure that my dress looked beautiful from the back for photos down the aisle and gave some reassuring words before the ceremony which were lovely to hear. Throughout the wedding day the staff kept checking that myself and my husband were looked after as much as our guests and everyone has commented on how lovely and attentive the staff were. During our wedding breakfast, we were continually checked on which was fantastic and the food was amazing. We could not have asked for anymore from Peckforton and they made our day truly incredible. Thanks to the staff and the gorgeous venue, the wedding went without a hitch and we have memories to treasure forever. The actual venue is breathtaking and we feel so lucky to have had our magical day at such an amazing place with amazing people.
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Amy Sims
Review Date
07 May 2018
Matt and I booked Peckforton over 2 years ago for our wedding and since that day we have had so much love and support from all of the staff and client be more thankful for all of the advice and support you have given us. We finally got married at the end of April and all of our guests were overwhelmed with the help you provided. I personally don’t know what i would have done without Eric, Emma and Adam from the moment we arrived on Friday until we left on Sunday Peckforton is truly blessed to have such amazing staff. Whether Eric as whisking me away to relax and get away from it all, Adam looking after our elderly guests and running around after everyone to Emma sewing and pinning me into my wedding dress you were all amazing. We honestly can’t thank you all enough for what you did for us. Hela you an the wedding team were spectacular, our minds were always at ease thanks to all your checking on us and replying to our emails some in the early hours of the morning when something was on our mind. Thank you so much, you really helped to make our wedding day so special and memorable.
Response from Peckforton Castle
Hi Amy, we are so glad your day was everything you dreamed of and we look forward to seeing you both again in the future.
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Claire and Ashi
Wedding Date
04 May 2018
We’d pay a lot of money to do it all again!!
We visited Peckforton castle on a whim, ironically neither of us had heard about it before as we don’t live in the area. We’d actually imagined we’d have a barn style wedding. I was instantly wowed by the great hall. The huge vaulted ceilings, ornate floor and wooden gallery is utterly stunning. Often for civil ceremonies you lose the grandeur or long aisle that you might get in a church, but the great hall had it all and more!
Throughout the whole process the staff and our wedding co-ordinator were just lovely. They made the whole experience stress free and enjoyable. Nothing was too much.
I’m sure that wherever you get married, you walking away saying it was the best day of your lives. Not because of the venue, but because you got married and Everyone you knew was there for you! But honestly, we couldn’t have picked a bettering place to tie the knot. The castle itself is stunning and our guests were all wowed by it. The experience was so much fun and we both lived every second of it.
There was so many staff involved in the running of it: too many to even mention and all were amazing! The food was delicious and well organised, despite having 130 plus guests. We were lucky enough to have mid 20s in early may so our guests loved the reception drinks outside, but there are so many rooms in the castle that if it hadn’t had rained, it wouldn’t have mattered. The wine cellar for the after party was a real seller for us and we were partying until the early hours... even our parents! Of course the back drop of the photos is pretty impressive!
They’ve sent us a free night b&b to use for our anniversary and we can’t wait to go back as it will also hold the best memories.
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Melanie A
Wedding Date
18 Mar 2018
Thank you so much for making our day magical
Am amazing wedding venue. We had a wedding that was more than we could've dreamed. The staff are friendly and really go out of their way to help you, the food is devine and the location is beautiful. Thank you so much for making our day magical
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Gemma Thompson
Review Date
06 Mar 2018
Please pass on our thanks to everyone who was involved with our wedding on the 4th march. We can not fault any aspect of the day, your team ensured we and our guests were well looked after and that the day ran flawlessly. Every aspect from start to finish was extremely well run and we would highly recommend the venue and team to anyone. Thanks again Gemma and Dan
Response from Peckforton Castle
Hi Gemma, thank you for your kind review. We are so glad that you had an amazing day. We wish you the best and hope to welcome you back soon.
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Christina Butt
Review Date
24 Feb 2018
We got married here on the 22.02.18 the staff could not do enough for us absolutely amazing especially Eric the night manager what a guy
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Michelle Perry
Wedding Date
27 Jan 2018
Huge thank you for all your hard work!!
Huge thank you for all your hard work!! Ollie & I got married on Saturday 27th January 2018 and it was just perfect!! The staff were so helpful from the minute we got there the day before especially Eric!! Eric you are a treasure and we can’t praise you enough... the castle are so lucky to have you and so are the other brides because I felt like a Princess in your care. You couldn’t do enough for us! We won’t ever forget everything you did!! Thank you love Ollie & Michelle Perry xxx
View More Reviews

Videos

Peckforton Castle Wedding

Peckforton Castle - The Undercover Waiters

Peckforton Castle Land Rover Experience

Peckforton Castle Experience

Peckforton Castle Wedding

Peckforton Castle

Awards

'Excellence’ in the past 3 years from Trip Advisors Certificate of Excellence Awards
'Excellence’ in the past 3 years from Trip Advisors Certificate of Excellence Awards
Red Star rating by the AA in 2018
Red Star rating by the AA in 2018
1851 restaurant has been awarded 3 AA Rosettes in 2018
1851 restaurant has been awarded 3 AA Rosettes in 2018

Accreditations

UKbride Approved Supplier
UKbride Approved Supplier

Map

Stone House Lane, Peckforton, Tarporley, Cheshire, CW6 9TN

Peckforton Castle

  • Stone House Lane
  • Peckforton
  • Tarporley
  • Cheshire
  • CW6 9TN
  • United Kingdom