UK
UKbride Member Request 14 Oct 2019

Opinionated people

Does anyone else have the problem of people getting too opinionated about your day, my parents disagree with everything me and my fiancee want and are very vocal about it, any advice?

30 Comments
UKbride Administrator
UKbride Administrator 15 Oct 2019

Elope, do what you want

UKbride Administrator
UKbride Administrator 15 Oct 2019

Yes I was told I couldn’t wear a red wedding dress or bridesmaid shouldn’t wear black do you think I took notice

A member uploaded image

Karen Wernham
Karen Wernham 15 Oct 2019

that happened to us, so we said cancel the wedding we are off to gretna green....... they soon behaved themselves as everyone wanted a big white wedding.

UKbride Administrator
UKbride Administrator 15 Oct 2019

Unless they are paying tell them to sod off!!

Andrea Bywater
Andrea Bywater 15 Oct 2019

At the end of the day its yours and your partners day - tell people to keep their noses out - if you need help/opinions you'll ask but until then just tell them where to go and if they don't like it tell them not to bother coming 🤷🏻‍♀️

Even if they are contributing to the day it is still YOUR day and they should listen to what YOU want... shouldn't make a difference if they are paying or not... its YOUR day at the end of the day 😊

Amy Price
Amy Price 15 Oct 2019

Yep I keep getting told by my family I'm stupid for having 5 bridesmaids 😳 just telling them to shh its my wedding x

Charlene Denny
Charlene Denny 15 Oct 2019

Do what you want........you will only regret it if you don't. 👍

UKbride Administrator
UKbride Administrator 15 Oct 2019

Just say "well thanks for the comment, you had your day your way and ill have my day my way" at end of day they will turn up and love it no matter what. Xx

Christina Branson
Christina Branson 15 Oct 2019

nope but then again my response would be ok that's fine I will take your name off the guest list as u don't like the idea.

Rachael Watkinson
Rachael Watkinson 15 Oct 2019

My mil keeps telling me i can't have this and i can't have that. I just keep my mouth shut, i will take her comments on board but its my wedding not hers. Luckily my own mother is much more understanding and although she will give me her opinion she agrees that it is my wedding, my way.

Helen Faulkner
Helen Faulkner 15 Oct 2019

Smile and nod politely, then just do whatever you want anyway, what they gonna do? Call the wedding police?

Stacey Gill
Stacey Gill 15 Oct 2019

Write a note saying this is our wedding not yours, put it in a box, wrap it up and present it to them. Then when you give it to them say this is a little thank you for all your ideas on the wedding hahaha

UKbride Administrator
UKbride Administrator 15 Oct 2019

Go and do a rock and roll wedding. Just do it,you’ll have the same results. Some photos and awesome memories. Without breaking the bank. Then go on a wonderful honeymoon,just the two of you

UKbride Administrator
UKbride Administrator 15 Oct 2019

If that's how they want it tell them to renew their vows!!!! Luckily our parents have kept out the way and just waited for invite to arrive etc. Really annoys me that I see alot of posts like this one why can't people just accept they dont have a say in it.

UKbride Administrator
UKbride Administrator 15 Oct 2019

We're very fortunate in that everyone involved are constantly telling us to do what WE want. My mother in law to be is very involved with invites, favours, centerpieces etc but she's suggesting things and not telling me what to do which is fab. I hope you find a resolution to have the day that you and your partner want.

UKbride Administrator
UKbride Administrator 15 Oct 2019

I don't know what it is about weddings that brings out the worst in some people! I understand that it might be difficult because obviously they are your parents and you don't want to fall out but I agree that you need to remind them that it is your wedding and whether they like it or not you are doing it your own way! They will get over it. From now on don't tell them your plans and just unless they want to be helpful and respect your decisions. I'm sure itl be alright on the night and they will have a great time at your lovely wedding. Best of luck and congrats. X

Anna Rush
Anna Rush 15 Oct 2019

Tell them to do one! Do your own thing. And if they start saying 'well we paid for this so we have a say' just tell them you will gladly refund the money if they dont agree with your ideas

Kelly Greenwood
Kelly Greenwood 15 Oct 2019

Ignore them. It's about what you and your soon to be husband/wife want. No one elses opinion matters unless you want it too xx

Caroline Swanson
Caroline Swanson 15 Oct 2019

UKbride Administrator
UKbride Administrator 15 Oct 2019

I didnt consult with people so that made it easier!

Sarah Sharpe
Sarah Sharpe 15 Oct 2019

Ignore them and get on with it. In the end it's your day xx

Charlotte Shuttleworth
Charlotte Shuttleworth 16 Oct 2019

I have had the exact same you just need to do what you and your partner want I said to my family members you've had your day this is mine!

Kelly Shakespeare
Kelly Shakespeare 16 Oct 2019

Are they paying for it? If not, they have no say lol. We’ve paid for everything bar my dress, which my parents insisted on, my mum is even happy to have it made in black, because I don’t want a white one (it’s not me).

UKbride Administrator
UKbride Administrator 16 Oct 2019

We've got this at the moment. Just booked a hotel for her side of the wedding party (they asked) and now they are changing their minds (only £800). My Fiancé is losing the plot. I talked to my family & they are worse. So as of today I have decided I don't give a hoot who comes, I have booked 6 rooms, here's the price, who wants them can pay me, who doesn't I will cancel & find yourself your own accommodation. We are getting married and having the venue about 1½hrs from both our families. It's our day (primarily my Fiancé's) so if you want to come, come, if not oh well.

Claire Mceachran
Claire Mceachran 16 Oct 2019

I would tell them to piss off they have had their day its urs and ur h2b days not there's

UKbride Administrator
UKbride Administrator 16 Oct 2019

Just explain clearly to them that is your wedding, and they already had theirs, so if they want to change anything on a wedding , to turn back time and ho to theirs...

UKbride Administrator
UKbride Administrator 16 Oct 2019

Tell 'em to sod off! It's your day.

Katherine Holmes
Katherine Holmes 16 Oct 2019

If your paying for it just tell people barely anything. Made wedding planning so much easier and less stressful

UKbride Administrator
UKbride Administrator 17 Oct 2019

It's your day so do what you want so you can have a day to remember for all the right reasons .....and remember this.....you can't please all of the people all of the time. I know that's a cliche but it's true so take charge and be in control of how you want things to be. Enjoy your special day

Shell Hallsworth
Shell Hallsworth 17 Oct 2019

its about you and your partner, do what you two want to do, its not about anyone else, they dont like it, tough 👍

Comment

Before we add your comment, please: log in to an existing UKbride account or join UKbride
Why Join?