Voco Oxford Thames

Oxford

UKbride 4.9 Heart Rating
4.9 EXCELLENT
38 Reviews

Information For Voco Oxford Thames

Just a stone’s throw away from Oxford, nestled within 30 acres of picturesque grounds, voco Oxford Thames is known as Oxfordshire’s hidden gem. The perfect setting for your wedding day.

As you approach the hotel, the sweeping tree-lined driveway opens up to reveal the beautiful sandstone buildings, which surround the medieval barns and the grade II listed, 15th Century manor house. This charming hotel sits on the bank of the River Thames, providing the most picture perfect setting for your wedding day.

Voco Oxford Thames boasts an enchanting riverside gazebo, licensed for outdoor ceremonies, whilst the ornate Saint John’s College Barge and quaint walled garden, provide the perfect backdrop for endless photo opportunities.
When it comes to the reception, voco Oxford Thames offers plenty of options. So whether you are looking for intimate celebrations with just those closest to you or something a little more extravagant, you will be sure to find the perfect spaces for your special day.

The characterful Little Barn is the ideal setting for weddings of up to 60 guests for the day, and 80 guests for the evening reception. While the modern Oxford Suite, overlooking the meadows, allows for something a little different, with the flexibility to host up to 120 guests for a seated meal, and up to 200 guests for the evening reception. The bright and spacious Conservatory, with its mixture of new and old, is perfect for up to 120 guests for the wedding breakfast and 200 for the evening reception. Finally the River Room, with its views of our perfectly manicured lawns and the River Thames, can host up to 80 guests for your seated meal and 100 for the evening reception.

Voco Oxford Thames has 104 beautiful bedrooms. Why not make a weekend of your celebrations? With bedrooms in the original manor house or newly built and refurbished, you and your guests can be sure to find the perfect bedroom. Only 4 miles from Oxford’s city centre, surrounded by plenty of countryside and riverside walks, even after the celebrations your guests will still be entertained!

If you are looking for something special, that still gives you a warm and welcoming feel, with endless possibilities and photo opportunities, it is hard to imagine a more perfect setting for your special day than voco Oxford Thames.

During this exciting time, you must have many questions! So join the wedding coordinator over some refreshments to discuss everything you need and how voco Oxford Thames can make your big day perfect and stress-free.

Voco Oxford Thames at a Glance

Price Range icon
Price Range
P.O.A
Bedroom Count icon
Bedrooms
104
Venue Type icon
Type of Venue
Hotel Weddings
Stately Home
Historic
Barn
City Centre
Same-Sex Weddings
Seating Capacity icon
Seated Capacity
Up to 120
Reception Capacity Icon
Reception Capacity
Up to 200
Set on the banks of the River Thames Medieval Barns full of character with modern touches 30 acres of picturesque grounds Just 4 miles from Oxford city centre Beautiful outdoor ceremonies under the riverside gazebo Newly refurbished public spaces and bedrooms HistoricBarnCity Hotel / City VenueCountry House Manor HouseNo of Weddings Hosted : Number of Weddings Hosted - More Than 50Location : In The Countryside View More
Nearest Town : OxfordNearest Airport : HeathrowNearest Motorway : M40Nearest Train Station : Oxford Train StationChurch Within Walking DistanceUniqueCasualConfetti PermittedIn House DancefloorCeremony LicenceIn House CateringIn House Wine ListBuffet StyleClean UpPre-Wedding ConsultationSeated MealSet UpStaff ProvidedTables And Chairs ProvidedTableware ProvidedTastingsSound Systems Available Ceremony MusicReception MusicPackageFull Service PlanningOn The Day Wedding CoordinationMaster Of CeremonyWeek Of Wedding PlanningPublic Liability InsuranceGrade Listed BuildingIn House Wedding CoordinatorOnsite ParkingOutdoor SpacePet FriendlySpa OnsiteWater ViewGreat ViewsLovely GroundsModern RomanticRusticStylishGarden OutdoorHotelWedding PlannersSame-Sex View Less

Current Promotions

Exclusive Promotion:

Book your 2020 wedding at voco Oxford Thames by the 29th November 2019 and receive one of the following; - Full day photographer - 3 Tier wedding cake - Live music for your ceremony and reception drinks *Terms and Conditions apply.

Voco Oxford Thames Reviews

Add Review
Avg. Rating
4.9 EXCELLENT
UKbride 4.9 Heart Rating
38 Reviews
Sort Reviews By
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Carly Hanlon
Review Date
14 Oct 2019
We had our wedding at the Oxford Thames over the bank holiday weekend in August 2019 and couldn’t of had a better day or weekend! We first visited the hotel in 2018 and knew instantly that we wanted to get married here. Natalie was amazing and showed us around first, she was so enthusiastic and we just knew this was place for us. She even made sure she was there for the day and I’m so glad she was. She’s a star and true credit to the hotel. We then spoke and had meetings with Robyn who organised everything for us (who is also fab and a true credit) nothing was too much trouble even for our large guest list! From then on everything all planned out and went smoothly, more importantly we had so much fun with the most amazing memories. The hotel and grounds are just beautiful and the food was very yummy. Mark kept us all organised in the day, he was so professional but with humour and everyone had big smiles. Even 6 weeks later we are getting people say how amazing our day was. The staff at the hotel couldn’t of been more helpful and we truly want to thank everyone at Oxford Thames for making our wedding the best day ever! We can’t wait to visit again. Paul & Carly xx
UKbride 4.00 Heart Rating
Dawn Bagley
Review Date
11 Oct 2019
We recently had our wedding reception here, Robyn was amazing and helpful throughout and put my mind at ease. When we arrived, the place looked amazing. The food was delicious and staff could not have been more accommodating and helpful to us and our guests on the day. It was a wonderful day.
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Nikki and Patrick
Wedding Date
05 Oct 2019
Thank you!
We would like to thank you for all your help in implementing all of our intricate plans for our wedding. We would like to show our appreciation of all the work the whole team put in to ensure that everything ran smoothly. We tried to thank many of the team, but hope that you would ensure our thanks reach all the members, including the chefs, as you will have records of who was on duty. Thank you, thank you, thank you!
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Helen and Simon
Wedding Date
14 Sep 2019
Genuinely Perfect
Just wanted to say a massive thank you to you and your colleagues for the amazing job everyone did on our wedding day! My guests were blown away not only by the beautiful venue but the food and how helpful the staff were! It was flawless from start to finish! The Master of Ceremony was so helpful and super friendly. He definitely made the day go very smoothly! I was fully prepared that there is no such thing as the perfect day and that there would be hiccups but as far as I’m aware there were none! It was genuinely the best day!
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Nikki and Philip
Wedding Date
07 Sep 2019
Just Perfect
I just wanted to take a moment to thank you for everything you did for us to make our wedding day perfect. It was everything we dreamed of and so much more. All of our guests loved the venue and everything went perfectly. Everyone at the hotel was just brilliant and we had the most amazing day! Also wanted to say thanks to the Toastmaster – he was just brilliant! Thanks again – Mr and Mrs Marshall!!!!
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Silvia and George
Wedding Date
30 Jun 2019
Wonderful day!
We would like to thank you very much for all your help with organizing the wedding. Everything went very well and it was an wonderful day.
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Charlotte and Andrew
Wedding Date
25 May 2019
Perfect
I just wanted to say a huge thank you to Oxford Thames hotel, but more especially to Robyn for everything that she did for us. Her support, patience, and enthusiasm during the planning process made everything so much easier for us, and we really enjoyed working with her and the team. As for the day itself, it was just seemless. And even the weather played along! Please also thank the toastmaster for us. Many of the guests commented on how great he was!
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Lucy and Adam
Wedding Date
18 May 2019
Fantastic
We want to thank you and all the staff at Oxford Thames Hotel for the truly superb time we all had at our wedding over the weekend.

In particular, our gratitude to all the staff for their unfailing helpfulness, friendly yet professional manner, and just being there whenever needed. Also, the Wedding Breakfast exceeded our expectations - and the waiters and waitresses were lovely. I can't praise you all highly enough.

We loved every aspect of the hotel and its grounds, and are only sorry that we couldn't do justice to the gardens due to the weather - but never mind, we all just got on with having a great time in the various settings you provided.

Thank you Robyn for being a fantastic Wedding Coordinator. I hope your ears have been ringing for the last few days from the constant praise we've given you. I'll never forget our wonderful wedding weekend at the Oxford Thames Hotel.
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Kimberley and Tristan
Wedding Date
26 Apr 2019
Best Day
Thank you so much for helping organise our wedding day!

You’ve been so helpful all the way through and we had the best day, as did our guests.

All of the staff on the day were brilliant and so helpful and friendly, they all did a fab job. They made it so stress-free for us!

The food was lovely and a lot of guests commented on how good it was!
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
James and Adele
Wedding Date
20 Apr 2019
Professional and Smooth
Just a quick note to thank you for arranging a perfect day us!

I have to say that the wedding coordinator and team were very professional and everything was exactly as expected and just how we planned. The day ran smoothly and thank you for arranging the last minute change to the riverside ceremony!

You did a great job!
View More Reviews

Upcoming Fairs at Voco Oxford Thames

Wedding Open Day at voco Oxford Thames 22 Mar 2020
Entry Price:
FREE
More
Information

Videos

Voco Oxford Thames: A luxury Oxfordshire wedding venue and hotel

Wonderful riverside gardens, unique ceremony spaces, and rich 15th-century character set Voco Oxford Thames in Oxfordshire. Voco is a collection of modern, country estate hotels with mansion houses at their heart.

Accreditations

UKbride Approved Supplier
UKbride Approved Supplier

Map

Henley Road, Sandford-On-Thames, Oxford, Oxfordshire, OX4 4GX

Voco Oxford Thames

  • Henley Road
  • Sandford-On-Thames
  • Oxford
  • Oxfordshire
  • OX4 4GX
  • United Kingdom

Meet the Wedding Coordinator

Image of Key Person Robyn Stratton
Robyn Stratton

I know that this is one of the biggest days in your life and that no two celebrations are the same! That is why I work with you from day one up until the big day itself. I will work with you to create the perfect package for the way you envisage your day!