The West Mill

Derby

UKbride 5 Heart Rating
5 EXCELLENT
69 Reviews

Information For The West Mill

The West Mill is a unique wedding venue set in the Grade I listed former cotton spinning mill. We are an exclusive use, no corkage venue, licensed for civil weddings and receptions.

Here at The West Mill we pride ourselves on our professionalism, enthusiasm and passion for creating memorable weddings and a seamless service to our couples and their guests.
Since launching in 2015, the venue has enjoyed considerable success and together with our unique venue, we believe that our team is behind those achievements. From our Event Managers, to our Housekeepers we strive to create the most exceptional wedding experience for our couples. From the initial viewing to the day itself, we’re here to take care of you and you not only leave as newlyweds but friends too.

The West Mill is a magnificent Grade I Listed former industrial mill dating back to the early 1800’s. The mill has been restored and converted into a beautiful wedding venue creating a magnificent setting for your wedding day.

Originally built as a cotton spinning mill, the building played an important part in the history of the Industrial Revolution. Having laid empty and derelict the four-storey building has been lovingly restored back to life.

The mill’s renovation has retained all of the industrial architecture of the 1800’s and is positioned in a superb setting on the riverbanks of the River Derwent. Inside, think barrel-vaulted ceilings, exposed brick walls, cast iron columns and beams, with breath-taking views of the weir.

The West Mill Venue is an exclusive use venue, licensed for civil weddings and wedding receptions. This means that The West Mill is yours for the day from 11am right the way through to midnight.

You and your guests will have exclusive use of our Venue and we guarantee that the only people on the grounds of The West Mill will be your guests and our wedding team.

Our catering partners share our commitment to excellence and integrity and will discuss the cost of your individual requirements openly and clearly. You are free to pick and choose elements from suggested menus or work with our well-respected catering team to design your own bespoke menu. Your wedding breakfast is cooked in our kitchen onsite and all produce is sourced locally where possible.

The West Mill is a no corkage venue which means you can bring your own drinks for the daytime reception and wedding breakfast, without a corkage charge. All standard glassware, ice and props are included as well as a fully staffed team to prepare and serve your drinks.

Our exclusive accommodation consists of eight en-suite double bedrooms (sleeping sixteen adults and up to five children). All styled by West Mill Venue signature style. The Grade II listed Mill House was originally constructed in 1799 as the Mill Managers House. Sadly, the building had not been used since the 1970s and was in need of major renovation.
Combining the Georgian architecture of the 1800s with the industrial style of The West Mill, we have carefully restored the building into a boutique house to accommodate you and your guests on your wedding night.

The West Mill at a Glance

Price Range icon
Price Range
P.O.A
Bedroom Count icon
Bedrooms
8
Venue Type icon
Type of Venue
Historic
Same-Sex Weddings
City Centre
Exclusive Use
Seating Capacity icon
Seated Capacity
Up to 160
Reception Capacity Icon
Reception Capacity
Up to 160
Exclusive use wedding venue No-corkage fee for your daytime drinks City Centre Venue Grade II luxury accommodation less than a stone’s throw away No hidden extras policy - ensures that you know exactly what your day will cost right at the start, with no unpleasant surprises after you’ve booked. We have lovingly restored a historic mill back to life to offer a unique wedding venue and experience. HistoricCity Hotel / City VenueNo of Weddings Hosted : Number of Weddings Hosted - More Than 50Location : In The CityNearest Town : DerbyConfetti Permitted View More
In House DancefloorCeremony LicenceAlcohol LicenseIn House CateringClean UpPre-Wedding ConsultationStaff ProvidedTables And Chairs ProvidedTableware ProvidedTastingsOn The Day Wedding CoordinationBridal Changing FacilitiesExclusive UseGrade Listed BuildingIn House Wedding CoordinatorOnsite ParkingOutdoor SpaceWater ViewLovely GroundsRusticGarden OutdoorSame-Sex View Less

Current Promotions

Exclusive Promotion:

We currently have discounts from 25% on selected dates for the remainder of 2019 and 2020. Please get-in-touch with our team on 01332 229029 or email [email protected] for more information

The West Mill Reviews

Add Review
Avg. Rating
5 EXCELLENT
UKbride 5 Heart Rating
69 Reviews
Sort Reviews By
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Sarah Smyth
Review Date
03 Nov 2019
We had our wedding reception here in October and it was honestly such a perfect venue! The food from Jenkinson’s was amazing and all staff were so attentive. Everything about the day was planned meticulously and it showed! We especially loved Sam our wedding planner- his communication was faultless from start to finish and he was so attentive on the day. Knowing her was in charge really helped me relax and stopped me worrying; if You’re able to request him I definitely would! The venue itself is stunning, as are the grounds which made for some beautiful wedding photos. We would definitely recommend this venue to anyone!
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Karl Crossland
Review Date
13 Oct 2019
12.10.19 If you’re reading this you already appreciate the stunning beauty of the building. So, please let me assure your wedding experience at The West Mill will be no less spectacular. The whole team work hard to offer a truly unique, modern approach to wedding hosting to make sure you have the best day... just like we did! Every couple is allocated an Event Manager, ours was Abi who was absolutely superb throughout the whole process. Thank you!
Response from The West Mill
Thank you so much Karl for your lovely words. It wa such a special day All the best to you & Kim! // The West Mill Events Team
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Hayley Pickering
Review Date
07 Oct 2019
Got married here.. amazing venue. Perfect from start to finish. Staff and caterers provide an excellent service
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Nichola Lund-Yates
Review Date
06 Oct 2019
I got married at The West Mill in July, and can't thank them enough for the most perfect day! We love The West Mill as soon as we saw it, even though it was the first on our list to visit, we left knowing we had to get married there. The staff were helpful throughout the whole process of getting married and on the day it couldn't have gone better! The food from Jenkinsons was amazing and all our guests loved it! Special thanks to Lucie who was our Events Manager, she did an amazing job of setting everything up the day before perfectly, and making sure everything ran like clockwork on the day. We will always recommend The West Mill to any of our friends or family getting married, and it will always hold a very special place in our hearts!
Response from The West Mill
It really was the perfect day Thank you for your lovely words Nichola! // The West Mill Events Team
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Jennie Tucker
Review Date
27 Sep 2019
For me it wasn’t just the wedding day (which of course was incredible) but the whole wedding experience The West Mill team delivered that made the year leading up to our day so exciting. From the first venue tours from the directors explaining everything you need to know, to additional planning meetings, the taster evenings and knowing they were always an email or call away. Then onto our wedding day, so many last minute changes that were beyond our control, yet the team were there on the day to make it all appear seamless. We had the most amazing day! Thank you again for everything. Xxxx
Response from The West Mill
Thank you SO much for your lovely words Jennie! Hope you are both well :) // The West Mill Events Team
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Hannah Shuttlewood
Review Date
26 Sep 2019
Our experience of Wedding planning and getting married at the West Mill was impeccable from start to finish. When my fiance and I turned up a day early to view the venue, Andrew, the owner, felt so guilty (it wasn't his fault at all) that he insisted on reimbursing our petrol money! The entire team answered every little question and ensured our day ran so smoothly. As a designer, I was very particular about how I wanted things to look and our coordinator Lucie made all of my dreams come true (and then some). Although the beautifully renovated mill speaks for itself, Andrew and his team are the soul of The West Mill and make it what it is. Not many venue owners are there to help lug your table tennis table and tandem bike out of a van, on the morning of your wedding. I would recommend The West Mill in a heartbeat and just hope to get invited to a wedding there soon.
Response from The West Mill
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a lovely review Hannah. It was such a beautiful day! // The West Mill Events Team
UKbride 4.00 Heart Rating
Gareth May
Review Date
07 Aug 2019
Got married here and was brilliant. The venue abs those who work there were spot on!
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Dave Lovell-Morgan
Wedding Date
13 Jul 2019
Absolutely perfect venue
We got married in July 2019, and had an absolutely perfect day - I can't give any negative feedback at all. Its an absolutely stunning venue for your day. The staff are absolutely amazing, and make the day go so easily, such as coping with changing guest numbers. The caterers linked with the venue are brilliant, and the catering staff great with all our guests. They just made it so easy, with things like signs, and drink coming the day beforehand. And the house next door was a lovely extra for our immediate family. Couldn't recommend this place enough, and I'm just gutted that its all now over.
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Alison Smith
Review Date
25 May 2019
The entire experience of having our wedding at the West Mill was amazing. from the moment we booked it to driving away the morning after the wedding the staff could not have been more helpful. Our guests were totally blown away by how beautiful the venue was and the beauty of the Mill itself means you have so little to do to make it look stunning. can't rate you highly enough or thank you enough for making our day everything we'd dreamed of and more. Ali & Dave Smith
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Joy Carr
Review Date
25 May 2019
We got married here on the 23rd May 2019. The venue, setting and staff were all brilliant. We had the most amazing day. Thank you so much West Mill and Kathryn for looking after us and giving us the wedding of our dreams. Joy & Chris xx
View More Reviews

Real Weddings

The West Mill Real Weddings
The Real Wedding of
Rachel and Ross
The West Mill Real Weddings
The Real Wedding of
Laura and Daniel
The West Mill Real Weddings
The Real Wedding of
Martin and Paul
The West Mill Real Weddings
The Real Wedding of
Juliette and Dean
The West Mill Real Weddings
The Real Wedding of
Hannah and Shereen
The West Mill Real Weddings
The Real Wedding of
Leanne and Matthew

Videos

Jodi & Tom - The West Mill

Videographer Our Wedding Videographers - Geoff

Jenny & Stephen - The West Mill

Videographer: Tom Wilson from Hitched Productions

Pip & Michael - The West Mill

The gorgeous wedding of Pip & Michael at The West Mill Venue, Derbyshire. Their wedding day was simply stunning from the decor, the dress, the flowers and above all, the people. Videographer: Those Girls (That Girl Emily)

Katie & Alex - The West Mill

The West Mill

Renna & Ben West Mill Derby Wedding Film by Nick Armstrong Wedding Films.

The West Mill

Awards

The Wedding Industry Awards
The Wedding Industry Awards
The Wedding Industry Awards
The Wedding Industry Awards
The UK Wedding Awards
The UK Wedding Awards

Accreditations

UKbride Approved Supplier
UKbride Approved Supplier

Map

Darley Abbey Mills, Darley Abbey, Derby, Derbyshire, DE22 1DZ

The West Mill

  • Darley Abbey Mills
  • Darley Abbey
  • Derby
  • Derbyshire
  • DE22 1DZ
  • United Kingdom