The Plough Inn

Congleton

UKbride 4.9 Heart Rating
4.9 EXCELLENT
56 Reviews

Information For The Plough Inn

The Plough Inn dates back as far as the 15th century when it began life as a small farm and coaching inn. Our beautiful Oak Barn dates back as far as the 13th century and was transported from its home in the Welsh hills to the village of Eaton during the late 20th century where it was carefully restored by master craftsmen to create our stunning wedding venue that you see today.

With its idyllic ambience, excellent catering and ideal mix of accommodation, The Plough Inn offers the perfect setting for any event with a difference! We cater for both small & large parties and will do everything in our power to make your occasion extra special!

Our medieval oak barn is licensed to hold Civil Ceremonies for up to 85 guests, and we also have the luxury of being just a stone’s throw away from some of Cheshire’s most picturesque and historic church’s. We can also accommodate up to 115 guests for your wedding breakfast and evening celebration.
At the end of the night you and your guests can kick off your dancing shoes and retire to one of our 17 en-suite bedrooms including our beautifully refurbished Bridal Suite. All of our rooms are set away from the main building, offering peace and a restful nights sleep after the days festivities.

If you would like any further information or would like to make an appointment to come and have a look around, please do not hesitate to contact our dedicated wedding and events team.

We look forward to hearing from you!

The Plough Inn at a Glance

Price Range icon
Price Range
£1500 - £8000
Bedroom Count icon
Bedrooms
17
Venue Type icon
Type of Venue
Historic
Marquee Weddings
Asian Weddings
Hotel Weddings
Same-Sex Weddings
Seating Capacity icon
Seated Capacity
Up to 115
Reception Capacity Icon
Reception Capacity
Up to 115
On site accommodation, including recently refurbished bridal suite Dedicated events and kitchen team, on hand to guide you every step of the way Historic barn in a rural setting Marquees permitted to extend our Beautiful Barn Packages starting from just £2019! Bespoke wedding packages available HistoricMarquee or Tipi PermittedAsian Wedding SpecialistHotelSame-Sex

Current Promotions

Exclusive Promotion:

Get married in 2019 for £2019

Top Wedding Tips

Don’t loose sight of what you want by trying to please others, make the day about you and your partner!

Listen to your wedding coordinator, they can offer a wealth of knowledge and insight.

Don’t be afraid to ask questions! There is no such thing as a silly question.

The Plough Inn Reviews

Add Review
Avg. Rating
4.9 EXCELLENT
UKbride 4.9 Heart Rating
56 Reviews
Sort Reviews By
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Rachel Brooks
Review Date
06 Oct 2019
Wonderful wedding venue We had our wedding here in May. The barn was just what we wanted, rustic with wooden beams. Laurie & Gabbi were great in the lead up to & on our wedding day. On the day Laurie was lovely, ever so politely keeping us on time for things & making sure everything went to plan, even helping with the table decorations & putting my veil in! The food was delicious, we had originally expected Xmas party quality food as serving over 50 people at one time but so many guests commented on how lovely it was. Thank you to all at The Plough for making our day so fabulous. Tim & Rachel
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Jenna Jenks
Review Date
27 Aug 2019
Thank to Gabriella and Lorrie for helping Both me and Reece throughout our wedding experience. It's a lovely venue, everything was perfect and nothing was too much trouble the staff were all friendly and helpful. Thank you Mr & Mrs Jenks
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Zoe Kate Carnwell
Review Date
20 Aug 2019
Absolutely beautiful venue!! We had our wedding here on Friday and despite the rain it was gorgeous!! They were happy to help and nothing was too much! Also amazing food Thankyou! xx
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Kirsty Bannister
Review Date
09 Aug 2019
We held our wedding in the barn at The Plough two weeks ago and it was absolutely perfect. We were extremely lucky with the weather and everything went like clockwork; you couldn't fault Gabriella and the team for the way they conducted the day. Our guests loved the venue and we were able to enjoy the day to the fullest.
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Vanessa Smalley
Review Date
27 Jul 2019
Couldn’t recommend the plough inn enough! We got married on the hottest day of the year and the staff were just AMAZING! Didn’t stop all day and kept a smile on their faces all day despite the heat! So helpful! Massive special thank you so the girls Gabriella,Laurie and Sabrina! And the chefs are just out of this world! The food was gorgeous!!! I believe they had ice wrapped around their necks cooking food For all of our guests! I really can not thank you all enough!
Response from The Plough Inn
Hi Vanessa, I am glad you enjoyed your special day with us at The Plough Inn, It was defiantly a change having to deal with such heat for the staff and all your guests. We hope to see you here again soon
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Laura Chappell
Review Date
16 Jun 2019
Had our wedding here 14th June 2019, it was absolutely perfect. Billy, Laurie, Caroline and all the team were amazing, they made the day run so smoothly from start to finish and really went the extra mile for us to ensure we were enjoying every moment of the day. We cannot thank you enough! The venue was beautiful as was the food and accommodation. Thank you again, we loved it here. love from Mr and Mrs Chappell x
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Samantha Hallam
Review Date
25 May 2019
Had our wedding day 24.05.19. The staff here are wonderful. We had the most magical wedding day and it was all down to the amazing people who work tirelessly to make sure you have the best day ever. Nothing was too much trouble and they take the stress away from the whole day. Start to finish our guest have nothing but praise about the venue, food and wonderful atmosphere. Thanks Gabriella who was the star of the whole operation. You made our day. Love the Hallams xx
UKbride 4.00 Heart Rating
Cassie Wood
Review Date
19 May 2019
The Plough helped us have the most amazing wedding day imaginable! It was everything we wanted it to be. Gabriella and her team were fab.
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Chris Thornley
Review Date
14 Apr 2019
we got married here yesterday (April 2019) nothing is too much trouble for Laurie and the team at the Plough, would very much recommend it if you're looking for a very reasonably priced venue. Food was great, service also, and rooms very nice too.
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Lauren Butler
Review Date
12 Apr 2019
I got married here on the 6.4.19 and the team were amazing from start to finish. Everyone commented on how amazing the food was. Laurie and her team are superstars and I highly reccomend this venue!
View More Reviews

Videos

Jessika & Martin

Jessika & Martins day was so full of emotion! So much love and happiness all around, we were so pleased to play such a big part in their special day. Jessika had such a clear vision of what she wanted resulting in the beautiful you can see here.

Suzanne and Fabio

What an amazing day it was! The ceremony was concluded by a traditional tea ceremony. The day was filled with vibrant color and happiness , the video captured by New Venture Productions we feel truly captured the day and what an amazing time that was had!

Accreditations

UKbride Approved Supplier
UKbride Approved Supplier

Map

Macclesfield Road, Eaton, Congleton, Cheshire, CW12 2NH

The Plough Inn

  • Macclesfield Road
  • Eaton
  • Congleton
  • Cheshire
  • CW12 2NH
  • United Kingdom

Meet the Wedding Coordinator

Image of Key Person Laurie & Gabriella
Laurie & Gabriella

To our prospective Brides and Grooms! We look forward to meeting you and being a part of this exciting journey, helping you create the most perfect day that you have always dreamed of. With eleven years’ experience in weddings between us, and much more in hospitality, you can feel comfortable leaving the stressful bits down to us whilst you enjoy the rest!