The Baltic Inn and Restaurant

Ponthenry

UKbride 5 Heart Rating
5 EXCELLENT
9 Reviews

Information For The Baltic Inn and Restaurant

The Baltic Inn is a small family run wedding venue that specialises in a variety of different types of weddings.

Situated a 15 minute drive from the main A48 at Cross Hands, halfway between Llanelli and Carmarthen, the Baltic Inn and Restaurant is located in the Gwendraeth valley in the heart of the Carmarthenshire country side. Only 10 minutes from the shopping centres of Carmarthen and Llanelli, and 5 minutes from the racecourse at Ffos Llas.

We are fully licensed to hold civil ceremonies and have over 10 years experience as a wedding venue. We will do everything in our power to make your wedding day extra special, with a selection of packages to choose from.

Our mission statement: To provide outstanding accommodation and dining facilities to our guests at all times. We welcome both business and leisure guests and specialise in private functions and weddings. We pride ourselves on our high quality standards and attention to detail.

The Baltic Inn and Restaurant at a Glance

Price Range icon
Price Range
P.O.A
Bedroom Count icon
Bedrooms
6
Venue Type icon
Type of Venue
Not Specified
Seating Capacity icon
Seated Capacity
Up to 120
Reception Capacity Icon
Reception Capacity
Up to 180
Well established wedding venue in local area Fully licensed to hold civil ceremonies 5 star food Hygeine rating 7 en-suite accommodation rooms Bespoke wedding package options avaiable Located in the picturesque Gwendreath valley

Current Promotions

Exclusive Promotion:

*Free engagement for up to 50 guests when booking any of our 4 wedding packages. *£100 off any wedding package when booked during January-March 2020. *Free meal for 2 with any wedding viewing.

Top Wedding Tips

We believe the best ceremony time is 1pm

We also get asked a lot what is the best time for the wedding breakfast and evening buffet? We recommend the wedding breakfast to be about 3pm and the evening buffet at 8pm

6.30pm is always a great time to start the evening reception

The Baltic Inn and Restaurant Reviews

Add Review
Avg. Rating
5 EXCELLENT
UKbride 5 Heart Rating
9 Reviews
Sort Reviews By
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Tony L
Wedding Date
26 Jan 2019
Brothers Wedding
Attended family wedding. Very good 3 course meal followed by a Brilliant evening, great entertainment, excellent accommodation. Very good breakfast was also included in my stay.
Would recommend and visit again.
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Sophie Griffith
Wedding Date
15 Sep 2018
Wedding at The Baltic
Can not thank dan and the staff at the Baltic enough for how amazing thay all were in making our wedding day so perfect, the staff wer extremely helpful and service was amazing..the food was absolutely stunning..thank you so much would highly recommend the Baltic x
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Jane C
Wedding Date
28 Aug 2018
Wedding
My daughter used the Baltic as her wedding venue on Saturday and I would like to say that everyone at the baltic made the weekend a very enjoyable one. Nothing was to much trouble. Great food too. Thank you
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Ella D
Wedding Date
18 Aug 2018
Wedding Venue
We got married at the Baltic on the 11/8/18 and we are over the moon with the service they provided! All staff were very friendly and accommodating - nothing was too much trouble for them. The food on the day was simply outstanding and very well presented on the plate. All our guests commented on the food, especially the amazing desserts (we went for the choice of Summer Fruit Pavlola or Sticky Toffee Pudding). All emails leading up to the big day were replied to straight away, which made the task of planning a wedding a lot easier.

We couldn't have asked for a better day - it was perfect! Thank you to all at the Baltic Inn.

Mr & Mrs Davies
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Martin L
Wedding Date
13 Jan 2018
Daughter's Wedding Evening
Easily surpassed all expectations - the place was professionally run, with efficient and friendly staff.
The Manager, Daniel, was great to deal with (as was the Chef), and all our requests and queries were dealt with.
The 150+ guests took over most of the Inn, but the function room was perfectly laid out, and enough staff laid on to cater for the large number.
The buffet was superb, but the only down-side was the fact that the food was removed without much warning. Some of the immediate family had to spend so much time mingling that they missed out - it may be worth considering an announcement 15 minutes or so prior to removal of the buffet?
Accommodation was also excellent, as was the breakfast.
We would not hesitate to recommend this place - thanks Daniel.
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Mr & Mrs Jones
Wedding Date
01 Sep 2017
Our perfect wedding day Friday 1st September 2017
Well what can we say we are so glad we chose to get married at The Baltic Inn on Friday 1st September 2017.The day couldn't have gone any more perfect!

From the initial planning and discussions with the lovely Viv Davies in the beginning down to the fantastic and helpful Dan who took over our wedding plans,everything went better than we expected.

The food,the accommodation,the staff,the setting,the venue just everything was spot on.We just couldn't have asked for a better day.Nothing was too much trouble as Dan was just a text/email/phonecall away.

On behalf of myself and my now husband Shane Jones we can't thank you and everyone at The Baltic enough.Highly recommended as a wedding venue we just wish we could do it all again!

Love the new Mr and Mrs Jones xxx
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Christopher E
Wedding Date
17 Jun 2017
Wedding
I may be slightly biased as I got to marry the love of my life, but here goes anyway -

The entire experience was fantastic. Daniel in particular was a great help and couldn’t do enough for me and my wife throughout the entire process.

The venue was magnificent, very spacious and laid out extremely well.

The food was fantastic and drinks reasonably priced.

The rooms were also fantastic, I could not find a fault.

And most importantly everybody had a fantastic time.

Thank for making a special day even more memorable
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Maria P
Wedding Date
03 Jun 2017
Wedding
We came to spend the day and evening for our friends wedding. It was the perfect setting for a summer wedding. Good Food and friendly staff. Would recommend to anyone looking to hire for a party or wedding
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Liane Andrews
Wedding Date
20 May 2017
Weekend stay for a Wedding
My family and I recently stayed at The Baltic Inn for a family wedding. As we were part of the wedding party we decided to stay for two nights. What a beautiful venue for a celebration. The rooms we stayed in had freshly laundered bed linen, lovely and clean facilities, more than enough clean fluffy towels for each guest and complementary teas and coffee in the room. More importantly there was free wifi which as any parent would know is a must with children and technology! The staff at the hotel went out of their way to make us feel very welcome and were very accommodating and helpful. The function room held quite a lot of us but there was still plenty of room in there. The Wedding lunch was absolutely beautiful. Nice and hot and very tasty. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Baltic, well worth a visit and highly recommended.

Videos

Weddings at The Baltic Inn

Accreditations

UKbride Approved Supplier
UKbride Approved Supplier

Map

Heol Y Pentre, Ponthenry, Dumfries and Galloway, SA15 5RE

The Baltic Inn and Restaurant

  • Heol Y Pentre
  • Ponthenry
  • Dumfries and Galloway
  • SA15 5RE
  • United Kingdom

Meet the Manager

Image of Key Person Daniel Gravell
Daniel Gravell

My name is Daniel and i manage and operate the wedding side of things here at the Baltic Inn. My main role is to make sure that all wedding couples who book their special day here with us receive a bespoke and personal service which is to the highest of standards. I pride myself on attention to detail and truly feel we have created a real gem of a venue which is perfectly suited to couples of all ages and requirements. Our traditional rustic cottage look is slightly different to your stereotypical wedding venue but I feel we offer so much more in terms of what we provide. From the service to the food to the accommodation are all of the highest quality and all our wedding couples comment on the high standards that we provide. I look forward to working with you on this most special of occasions.