Pennsylvania Castle

Portland

UKbride 5 Heart Rating
5 EXCELLENT
18 Reviews

Information For Pennsylvania Castle

Exclusive use luxury venue offering stunning seaview’s and a range of ceremony locations, both inside the Castle or within the Gardens.

Set on the cliffs of Dorset’s dramatic coastline, Pennsylvania Castle is an exclusive wedding and events venue. The neo-gothic design effortlessly combines intimacy, elegance and grandeur on a stunning estate that has inspired writers and hosted royalty for more than two centuries. The Penn offers a unique experience showcasing the beauty of the Jurassic Coastline.

Your wedding at The Penn can be as individual as you are, with a team that provides a genuinely personalised experience with a seamless level of attention to detail.
From the very first meeting until you leave as newlyweds, your personal Wedding Coordinator will support you every step of the way.
Before the celebrations officially begin there is the opportunity to create a private suite of bedrooms within the Castle, where the bride and her bridesmaids can meet with their chosen make-up artists and hairdressers, so that you may prepare for your big day in relaxed luxury, totally undisturbed by other guests.

The Penn has developed successful relationships with high-end local suppliers, including caterers, florists and event professionals. You can choose anything from an indoor feast to an outdoor barbecue and, our experienced partners will deliver an unforgettable experience. Your Wedding Coordinator will guide you through all your options.

Pennsylvania Castle at a Glance

Price Range icon
Price Range
P.O.A
Bedroom Count icon
Bedrooms
9
Venue Type icon
Type of Venue
Castle
Exclusive Use
Orangery Weddings
Same-Sex Weddings
Seating Capacity icon
Seated Capacity
Up to 120
Reception Capacity Icon
Reception Capacity
Up to 120
Exclusive Use Castle Venue Luxury Venue Breath-taking Seaview’s Jurassic Coast Additional Accommodation Pricing Category : LuxuryHas AccommodationBridal Suite : Honeymoon SuiteSleeps No Of People : 20CastleLocation : Coastal View More
Nearest Town : PortlandNearest Airport : BournemouthNearest Train Station : WeymouthChurch Within Walking DistanceLuxuryIn House DancefloorCeremony LicenceAlcohol LicenseBartendingPre-Wedding ConsultationTables And Chairs ProvidedSound Systems Available On The Day Wedding CoordinationMaster Of CeremonyBridal Changing FacilitiesExclusive UseIn House Wedding CoordinatorLandscaped GardensOnsite ParkingOutdoor SpaceWater ViewGreat ViewsLovely GroundsOrangerySame-Sex View Less

Top Wedding Tips

Choose a venue with both outdoor and indoor ceremony spaces - Having a beautiful indoor space can relieve any stress a couple may have of summer rain.

Enjoy every moment – take in as much detail as possible and have a couple of moments when just you and your husband/wife can soak up all the atmosphere.

Make your day your own – Whether you like traditional, bohemiem or chabby chic, put your own personalities into your day as ultimately, your wedding day should be designed around you.

Pennsylvania Castle Reviews

Add Review
Avg. Rating
5 EXCELLENT
UKbride 5 Heart Rating
18 Reviews
Sort Reviews By
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Lauren & Rob Hamilton
Wedding Date
10 Aug 2019
The most incredible day
I cannot recommend the team at Penn Castle enough! From the very first show round right through to the big day itself and after the event, Cat absolutely nailed the balance between being a true event professional with a fantastic sense of humour and immense ability to keep us calm. Planning our big day from abroad added a level of stress that she managed perfectly and she helped us keep this to a minimum by showing us time and time again that she knew exactly what she was doing and that everything was under control. We are planning to revisit the castle and relive our special day in years to come. Thank you so much once again - it really was the best day of our lives.
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Ali Clements
Review Date
13 Jul 2019
This place is absolutely one of the most amazing venues I’ve ever seen. All of our guest were talking about how beautiful it was and the pictures are just amazing. I literally can’t describe how everything is in order and there is so much detail in everything. I’m still just so speechless of how this place is. We were looking at four places and this place we went to the first rime 3 in between, and then back to it because we just knew. We knew this would be in the place the first time we pulled in Not only the place but the people. WOW. THey are honestly the best group of individuals for not only a wedding but any type of occasion. Cat helped us the entire time before and after the wedding. She never puts any stress on the bride and groom and makes sure it is all planned. You never have to ask her more than once (even though sometimes you may not help it) and anything you need/want/imagine gets done. She even pulled out her first aid kid when i has glass broken and had stepped on it. All of the team members for the castle were amazing - asking if they need to clean up the bridal suite before we go up, cleaning up TONS of drinks that got spilt over and over on the dance floor, to everything in between If i could go back and do it again i would. I am so in love with this place and if you aren’t sure about a venue just go visit it and they will make you fall in love with it.
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Laura
Wedding Date
08 Jun 2019
It was an absolute dream come true to get married in such a breathtaking place.
A beautiful, magical castle, set on a cliff with stunning views of the ocean. It was an absolute dream come true to get married in such a breathtaking place. Cat was absolutely fantastic! A true professional in organising our wedding day the way that we wanted it. She is such a lovely person inside and out. Thank you so much for helping us to have the best wedding we could of ever imagined
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Alex Norian
Review Date
03 May 2019
Pennsylvania Castle was the venue for our wedding last Saturday and it quite honestly has our hearts. We absolutely adore it and were also as fortunate as we could have been to have had Cat, the Rental and Events Manager, to deal with. She is the most pragmatic, understanding and talented host who effectively doubled up as a wedding planner. We would have no hesitation in recommending this place and particularly, Cat, to anybody considering.
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Kimberley and Deep Strivastava
Wedding Date
29 Nov 2018
Our twilight wedding was an absolute dream
I just want to say a huge thank you to the wonderful Cat and team, for all you have done for our wedding - in both the lead up and the day itself. Our twilight wedding was an absolute dream and it wouldn't have been possible without your amazing venue and assistance. All our guests were complimentary of the beauty and unique wedding set up! We really could not have wished for a better day. With best wishes, Mr and Mrs Srivastava
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Tracy and Milan Mach
Wedding Date
02 Jun 2018
Our best decision was to get married at The Penn.
Without doubt our best decision was to have our wedding at the Pennsylvania Castle.
From the time we contacted the Castle enquiring about our wedding, to the day we left, our experience was an absolute joy.
Catherine’s suggestions advice and expert management on the day made the wedding for us, everything went so smoothly. All the staff were so helpful and courteous.
The Castle is in the perfect location overlooking the well-manicured gardens and spectacular views of the coast and sea.
All our guests commented on the en-suite bedrooms being beautiful, comfortable and spacious. The whole Castle was impeccably clean and faultless.
The flexibility the property offers allowed everyone to find their own space or alternately was accommodating enough for everyone to gather and celebrate together
The surrounding areas are exciting too, walking down to the quaint Cove and exploring the remains of 13th Century Cemetery. It was like a scene from an Enid Blyton novel.
On the day of our wedding 2nd June 2018 we were overwhelmed with just how Catherine took control, we didn’t need to worry about anything, she was there sorting out and taking care of every detail, large or small. We really can’t express how grateful we are.
We knew our wedding was going to be a lovely day regardless, how could it not be in such a gorgeous location but didn’t quite expect just how perfect when it all came together.
We all had a magical day, and memories, which will last our lifetime.
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Kim & Freddie
Wedding Date
16 Dec 2017
Winter Wedding
I want to do a shout out to Chris, Cat and Team for all their help. We met with Cat a few times before the wedding to go over the plans, and on the day she was brilliant at keeping calm and checking all was okay with me and my husband. Cat also made sure my husband and I were where we were meant to be!
Thank you again for all your hard work in making our wedding day truly special.
Kimberley and Freddie xx
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Alexandra Saxton
Review Date
06 Dec 2017
We stumbled upon Pennsylvania Castle by accident when touring Portland. My soon to be husband and I fell in love with in and I swore that if we got engaged that is where I wanted to marry. A few months later he got down on one knee and proposed and literally the day after he proposed I booked Pennsylvania Castle as our wedding venue over a year in advance for July 2017. It was everything I hoped it would be as a wedding venue, totally breathtaking and magical. I couldn't imagine anywhere else in the world that would top it. The weather was fantastic and the even when we had to move inside during a few light showers the inside of the venue was so beautiful and there was so much light shining through it added an extra dimension to the day and gave our guests the chance to appreciate all the different rooms in the castle too. And brides to be I definitely recommend staying in the turret princess room not only on your wedding night but also the night before your wedding. There is nothing more beautiful then going to sleep before your wedding day listening to the waves crashing on the shore, followed by waking up in the magnificent emperor bed the next morning followed by a luxurious bath in the roll top bath. Such luxury! Amazing venue aside - Jo and Cat where fantastic venue organisers too. They made our whole wedding go so seamlessly. We didn't have to worry about a thing on the day as they handled everything. They are top professionals at what they do and so lovely to work with as well. Always smiling, always helpful and professional. We really couldn't of asked for anything more. Thanks again Jo and Cat! xxx
Response from Pennsylvania Castle
Thanks so much Alexandra - it was our pleasure. You were a stunning bride.
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Mark and Vanessa
Wedding Date
16 Sep 2017
Very Magical
Had the most fabulous wedding day, very magical. Stayed the weekend and could not have asked for more.
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Jo and Lynn
Wedding Date
12 Aug 2017
Perfect Setting
The location of our wedding! It was everything we could have dreamt of + more!! The perfect setting that we will never forget... cannot wait to be back!
View More Reviews

Real Weddings

Pennsylvania Castle Real Weddings
The Real Wedding of
Fi and Alan
Pennsylvania Castle Real Weddings
The Real Wedding of
Kim and Deep
Pennsylvania Castle Real Weddings
The Real Wedding of
Kirsty and Tom
Pennsylvania Castle Real Weddings
The Real Wedding of
Lynne and Jo
Pennsylvania Castle Real Weddings
The Real Wedding of
Helen and Ollie
Pennsylvania Castle Real Weddings
The Real Wedding of
Amy and Gavin

Videos

Pennsylvania Castle

Cedric and Shiyu's Highlights Film at Pennsylvania Castle

Awards

Shortlisted for the UK Wedding Awards
Shortlisted for the UK Wedding Awards
 Shortlisted for the British Wedding Awards.
Shortlisted for the British Wedding Awards.

Accreditations

UKbride Approved Supplier
UKbride Approved Supplier

Map

Colonial Leisure, Pennsylvania Castle, Portland, Dorset, DT5 1HZ

Pennsylvania Castle

  • Colonial Leisure
  • Pennsylvania Castle
  • Portland
  • Dorset
  • DT5 1HZ
  • United Kingdom

Meet the Wedding Coordinator

Image of Key Person Cat Samuel
Cat Samuel