Knowsley Hall

Prescot

UKbride 5 Heart Rating
5 EXCELLENT
11 Reviews

Information For Knowsley Hall

The most idyllic setting; totally private from the minute you drive into our 2,500 acres walled estate you will be completely captivated, it’s like a whole other world.

Knowsley Hall is an authentic stately home that dates back to 1495 and sits proudly within 2,500 acres of private parkland. As soon as you drive through the imposing gates into the private walled estate, you will be truly mesmerised by the size and beauty of the Knowsley Estate. The tree lined driveway up to the Hall is truly enchanting and once the Hall is in view it will literally take your breath away.

Our stunning Hall can be exclusively yours for the entire time you are with us, ensuring that your every need is met. Our dedicated team of staff are here to take all your stresses away and make sure that you have the most magical and memorable wedding day.
With our dedicated team of housekeepers, chefs and event management team, they can take care of your every need, ensuring that your day runs smoothly from start to finish. From the moment you enter into a dialogue with the team at Knowsley Hall to the very last minute you leave we aim to deliver exceptional care and attention to detail.

You can exchange your vows in the majestic splendour of our Stucco Ballroom with a capacity of up to 132 guests. This room exudes romance with its stunning gold encrusted leaf details on the walls and ceiling.
Our terrace for drinks and canapés becomes an enchanting hideaway offering breathtaking views of our manicured gardens which are cared for by our team of gardeners and a lake. Alternatively, the Walnut Drawing Room is a beautiful room to host your drinks receptions with its warm lighting and cosy seating allowing your guests to relax and feel at home.

Our magnificent State Dining Room is where guests enjoy our exquisite food, with each dish of the menu being tasted and approved by The Earl and Countess of Derby themselves. Our executive chef strives to deliver exceptional quality of food sourced fresh where possible from the Knowsley Estate.

Each couple is invited for a complimentary wedding breakfast tasting 6-8 weeks before their wedding. This is when they get the chance to meet their dedicated event manager who will be with them every step of the way on their wedding day. As well as tasting the food and meeting the Chef to decide on their menu this is a great opportunity for all parties to get to know one another and understand how they want their wedding day to run. The event manager is extremely knowledgeable in personalising each wedding and making their client feel valued and special and put any concerns they may have at ease. If a couple want to achieve a particular look or feel to their wedding day we can help them to create that with our knowledge and expertise.

Extend your stay in our 17 award winning accommodation. Each room has been individually designed by The Countess of Derby herself and are immaculately maintained to a high standard by our housekeepers.

As we like to keep our calendar varied, we limit the number of weddings held at the Hall each year and keep to a maximum of 70. When we tell couples this they are pleasantly surprised and relish in the prospect that their wedding day will be treated as unique, exclusive and rather special.

We are the only authentic stately home in Merseyside and one of the few stately homes operating as an event venue that have strong backing and influence of their owners especially an Earl & Countess. Their high standards in quality, service and excellence are invaluable to the team who strive to deliver a 5* service each and every time. The sense of achievement and feeling proud to work here shines through in our approach to how we want to be the very best and go above and beyond to ensure that our visitors have the very best experience they can with us. This quality and professionalism can be seen evidently from the 5 *reviews we receive on Facebook and questionnaire feedback. We have also won many accolades from Best Wedding Venue in Merseyside for the 4th year running by County Brides, finalists in the Great Northern Wedding Awards and Guides for Brides Customer Service Awards to 5* Gold Award for our guest accommodation and breakfast by Visit Britain.

Everything we do we take pride in and managed directly in house by a dedicated and passionate team. From our very own housekeeping, gardener’s, chefs using fresh produce grown on the Knowsley estate, to the running of a slick and seamless event. Our aim is to deliver the most memorable and wonderful experience to each and every guest who enters our doors.

Knowsley Hall at a Glance

Price Range icon
Price Range
P.O.A
Bedroom Count icon
Bedrooms
17
Venue Type icon
Type of Venue
Historic
Stately Home
Unique Venue
Exclusive Use
Same-Sex Weddings
Seating Capacity icon
Seated Capacity
Up to 132
Reception Capacity Icon
Reception Capacity
Up to 200
Home to The Earl & Countess of Derby Set within 2500 acres of a private estate with manicured gardens and a lake Authentic stately home with over 600 years of history In-house expert chefs using locally sourced produce 17 award winning bedrooms designed by The Countess of Derby herself All inclusive wedding packages all with exclusive hire Pricing Category : ModerateHistoricCountry House Manor HouseNo of Weddings Hosted : Number of Weddings Hosted - More Than 50Nearest Town : PrescotNearest Airport : Liverpool View More
Nearest Motorway : M62Nearest Train Station : HuytonChurch Within Walking DistanceUnique Wedding VenueClassicFormalLuxuryConfetti PermittedCeremony LicenceAlcohol LicenseCorkage ChargeAlcohol ProvisionBartendingIn House CateringIn House Wine ListClean UpPre-Wedding ConsultationSeated MealSet UpStaff ProvidedTables And Chairs ProvidedTableware ProvidedTastingsSound Systems Available Ceremony MusicReception MusicPackageFull Service PlanningOn The Day Wedding CoordinationMaster Of CeremonyPublic Liability InsuranceBallroomBridal Changing FacilitiesDisabled AccessExclusive UseGrade Listed BuildingIn House Wedding CoordinatorLandscaped GardensOnsite ParkingOutdoor SpaceSpa OnsiteWater ViewGreat ViewsLovely GroundsRomanticGarden OutdoorStately HomeSame-Sex View Less

Current Promotions

Exclusive Promotion:

We have a limited number of dates remaining for weddings between now and 31st March 2020. Our All-Inclusive fairy tale winter wedding can be yours for just £9,000. This limited offer guarantees you Exclusive use of our beautiful stately home and provides everything you need for 60 adult day guests and 80 evening guests.

Top Wedding Tips

When booking a venue read reviews from other couples and find out what they experienced. It's not just the venue you are booking but the staff and food need to be good.

We offer All-Inclusive wedding packages with VAT included and no hidden charges. Check before you book a venue as you will be surprised what some charge.

Book a venue you would be happy with if it were to rain and there are places for guests to go and sit and relax in.

Knowsley Hall Reviews

Add Review
Avg. Rating
5 EXCELLENT
UKbride 5 Heart Rating
11 Reviews
Sort Reviews By
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Maria & Chris Massey
Wedding Date
14 Dec 2019
Took our breath away, the Hall is so beautiful
Everything, just everything was amazing.
The Hall was decorated beautifully for Christmas. The trees were just gorgeous.
The staff; the waiters & waitresses at the wedding breakfast, the food, the hall, the bedrooms – The honeymoon suite was also amazing! Absolutely beautiful in every way.
We’ve been recommending it to anyone who will listen!
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Alex Hughes-Johnson
Wedding Date
23 Nov 2019
Its opulence and grandeur is breathtaking
Wow, where do I even start. From the first minute my husband and I walked through the doors to Knowsley Hall, we knew this would be the home of our wedding venue. Its opulence and grandeur is breathtaking and the customer service, from the moment we booked the venue with Vanessa to email conversations with Lesley and Matt and then to the co-ordination on the day by Matt and Jason, was exceptional. Myself, James and our guests were blown away by the food. So many of our guests commented on the fact that the food was the best they had ever tasted at a wedding. Paul and his team clearly take great pride in the food they present and we can’t thank them enough for it. It was superb. A special thanks has to go to Matt, Jason and the FOH team at Knowsley. You guys were incredible. James and I didn’t have to think about anything on the day. All of our thoughts and worries were taken care of and you made sure the day ran like clock work. You are all an absolute credit to Knowsley and to Lord and Lady Derby.

So, if anyone is reading this review thinking, should we book Knowsley Hall, the answer is YES! Your day will be everything and more than you could ever imagine and it will leave its imprint in your hearts forever.
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Laura Taylor
Wedding Date
08 Sep 2019
The staff go that extra mile to ensure your day is perfect in every way
This weekend we celebrated our wedding at Knowsley Hall, it was the most amazing experience. The venue is spectacular and the staff at every stage, from planning to the day itself, are exceptional. All the guests commented on how attentive they were, they go that extra mile to ensure that the day is perfect in every way and that every bride is made to feel special. Nothing is too much trouble and they anticipate every need before you can even express it. The food was out of this world, we had several guests with special dietary requirements and Chef went out of his way to ensure that not only were their needs were met but they also had an amazing meal without feeling in any way that they were a bother. This was very much appreciated by the guests and by us as hosts. If you want a stunning venue where your guests will be completely wowed, come and view Knowsley Hall. I am sure that like us you will fall in love with it, and will have the wedding day of your dreams.
Special thanks to Wayne and Lesley for making our wedding day dream come true x
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
May Atkinson
Wedding Date
25 Aug 2019
If you are after a glamorous, regal wedding, this is the place to book.
We had originally booked another venue for our wedding but Mid-May 2019 we were contacted by said venue to be told the venue would not be finished in time to host our wedding so we somehow stumbled on Knowsley Hall and my, was that one of the best stumbles of our lives.

After the traumatic experience with our last venue, we were super OCD with Knowsley Hall but we need not have worried as all the staff were attentive and reassuring. The attention to detail was second to none. All the staff on the day were superb and we could not have asked for more from them in terms of friendliness and professionalism. My special thanks goes out to Matt, Adam and Leon to whom I would actually entrust with my life!

It was such a perfect day and we am certain it was down to all the staff putting in so much hard work in the background. All our guests commented upon how stunning the venue was (especially in the sunshine) and some compared it to Downton Abbey so if you are after a glamorous, regal wedding, this is the place to book.

We are foodie people so the cherry on top was the exquisite wedding breakfast. Fine dining at its finest but generous enough portion sizes to fill you up. Simply stunning!

We would not hesitate to recommend Knowsley Hall who hosted the most perfect day of our lives.
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Nafiza Jamil
Wedding Date
17 Aug 2019
They made planning the wedding so easy and so much fun
The staff at Knowsley Hall are absolutely outstanding - they are all extremely professional, kind, understanding and always willing to do that bit extra. They made our wedding day even more special than we could have imagined and were so wonderful with all our guests. The Hall speaks for itself with it’s beauty

They made planning the wedding so easy and so much fun and were always so friendly and happy to help with all our questions.

Anyone who is looking at venues to get married please please chose this one as I can’t think of anything that could have been better with our day. The food was also the most delicious food I have ever tasted and all my guests agree.
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Becky Hannan
Wedding Date
02 Aug 2019
I would highly recommend Knowlsey Hall as the best place to celebrate your wedding day
What can I say! My husband and I had the best day at Knowlsey Hall. From arriving at 8am to get ready, to leaving at 11am the next day, every single second was perfect.

The staff are second to none. I want to give a huge thank you to Lesley, Wayne, Jason and Adam for ensuring the whole day ran so smoothly. Another huge thank you to the rest of the staff who were there on our day. Everyone commented on how amazing they were. So professional, helpful, caring and just fantastic!

The food was perfect! From the tasting session with the chef to the meal on the day, everything was just so good! Thank you so much!

If you're planning your wedding day I would highly recommend Knowlsey Hall as the best place to celebrate your wedding day. Many people say your wedding day will be the best day of your life but thanks to Knowlsey hall and their amazing team, ours really was the best day of our lives!

Already planning our vow renewals in 10 years time! Hah!

Becky and Stephen Hannan
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Rachael Phythian
Wedding Date
20 Jul 2019
The wedding venue of dreams!
Knowsley Hall is the wedding venue of dreams! It is the most magical place you can ever imagine to get married in and we still can’t believe it was ours for the day.

When we walked around for the first time we just knew that this was the perfect venue. It is so grand and beautiful, we absolutely love the history that oozes out as your turn every corner. At the very first tour of the hall we felt so at ease talking about what we had envisioned our big day to be like. We were made to feel so welcome. Within a few days we had booked the wedding date, it was the only venue we had looked at and we didn’t need to look anywhere else because it was so special to us.

We had 11 months to plan our wedding and it felt so easy and wonderful with the amazing team at Knowsley helping us at every stage. Nothing was too much, they were so kind, understanding and helpful with every aspect of our plans.

The big day has to be the best day of our lives so far. Everything was planned to precision and the Knowsley hall team did everything we had asked for and more. The way that they had laid out the displays, ornaments, photographs, flowers and candles on our day to be inkeeping with our theme was just spectacular.

The team are the most professional, kind and hard working people that we have met. They are so dedicated to making sure your day is wonderful. They will go above and beyond in every way possible. We have had so much positive feedback from our guests about how amazing the staff had been.

I recently went back in September for a guided tour of the hall and again the staff welcomed me and my family back with open arms and it was so lovely to see them again! Special thanks to Lesley, Wayne and Jason! You are superstars and really made everything come together on the day.
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Anna & Sharon Martinez
Wedding Date
23 Mar 2019
The grounds and the interior are just breath-taking
We had originally planned to be married overseas, however after attending a Knowsley Hall open day we left having booked our wedding day with them! From the moment we turned up the drive we fell in love with the venue. We were greeted by lovely staff, who obviously love working at this estate. From the events team to the gardeners and hospitality staff, the professionalism and attentiveness is evident from how the estate is cared for and the smiles that have greeted us on each visit to Knowsley. And we are guilty of making many visits (to almost all the wedding fairs and open days since we booked) because we love the place so much.
Knowsley Hall is absolutely stunning! The grounds and the interior are just breath-taking, but all this is supported by an exceptional team who were attentive, intuitive to the detail and ensured that our wedding ran smoothly and seamlessly right up to us leaving the following day. No question or request was too much trouble. The communication from the Knowsley team in our 2 years of planning was always timely and extremely helpful, with everyone going above and beyond our expectations.
Our wedding was magical, not only for ourselves but also our guests. Our friends and family have not stopped talking about what an amazing wedding it was and how special Knowsley Hall was. The food was exquisite, looked stunning and tasted sensational. The canapes, wedding breakfast and evening nibbles were all absolutely delicious.
We finished our wedding evening in the early hours by walking around the grounds and taking in our day whilst still in our wedding dresses. A few hours later we were walking the grounds again whilst the sun came up, not wanting to miss any opportunity to be surrounded by the awe of the estate.
If you want a magical, memorable wedding day, then Knowsley Hall will certainly meet your expectations. I couldn’t recommend them highly enough and you will not be disappointed
Thankyou once again Knowsley, we have so many beautiful memories of our day to treasure and we will certainly be back for a visit to keep adding to our memories.
Mrs Anna Martinez & Mrs Sharon Martinez
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Rebecca Rodgers
Wedding Date
16 Dec 2018
A fairytale wedding from start to finish
We were married at Knowsley Hall on the 16th December 2018 and it really was a fairytale wedding from start to finish. The Hall and gardens are so spectacular, the staff so friendly and helpful and the food was delicious - our guests have all commented on how amazing the beef was. We can’t thank Matt enough who anticipated our every need and was there in the background making sure everything was running the way it should. He even magically appeared with my fur every time I went outside! Lesley was also great in answering my many questions in the months leading up to the wedding. Thank you to everyone involved in our dream wedding.
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Sarah Ryan
Wedding Date
14 Oct 2018
Wedding angels!
We had our wedding here in October and giving 5 stars doesn’t seem enough! Venue is stunning but above all the staff are incredible. So accommodating, thoughtful and attentive! They helped us have a day that we couldn’t have even dreamed of. Cannot recommend Knowsley Hall enough. We’ve had nothing but compliments from all our guests. Thank you to Matt, Jason and all the team. You’re all wedding angels xxx
View More Reviews

Real Weddings

Knowsley Hall Real Weddings
A summer dream wedding at Knowsley Hall
The Real Wedding of
Samantha and Johnny
Knowsley Hall Real Weddings
Knowsley Hall fairytale wedding
The Real Wedding of
David and Phil
Knowsley Hall Real Weddings
Jen & Dan's magical winter wedding
The Real Wedding of
Jen and Dan

Videos

Exclusive wedding venue

Home to The Earl & Countess of Derby our stately home can be exclusively yours on your wedding day.

Autumn Wedding at Knowsley Hall

Graeme & Hannah's beautful autumn wedding

Eric & Wendy's Summer Wedding

The Knowsley Estate

Beautiful drone footage captured by Marry me Films

Stacey & Benjamin's Winter Wedding

Awards

The Wedding Industry Awards 2019-Highly Commended
The Wedding Industry Awards 2019-Highly Commended
Great Northern Wedding Awards Finalist 2019
Great Northern Wedding Awards Finalist 2019
Guides For Brides Finalist 2019
Guides For Brides Finalist 2019
County Brides Best Wedding Venue Merseyside 2019
County Brides Best Wedding Venue Merseyside 2019

Accreditations

UKbride Approved Supplier
UKbride Approved Supplier

Map

Knowsley Park, Prescot, Merseyside, L34 4AG

Meet the Wedding Coordinator

Image of Key Person Jason White
Jason White

Rest assure that your every need will be catered for on your special day, nothing is too much trouble. As we are a family run business The Earl & Countess of Derby have extremely high standards of quality, service and excellence which are fed through to all areas of the team to deliver a 5* service each and every time. Right from the first moment we meet our prospective couples we ensure their experience is a personalised one. Private viewings are encouraged as it allows our team to absorb the personality and aspirations of our wedding couples. Our dedicated wedding team are here to take away all the stress and worry so the Bride & Groom can enjoy their special day.