Grittenham Barn

Petworth

UKbride 5 Heart Rating
5 EXCELLENT
22 Reviews

Information For Grittenham Barn

Grittenham Barn is a traditional stone Sussex barn with breathtaking views over the South Downs. It has been immaculately restored and features a stunning central fireplace. Grittenham is set in the heart of the West Sussex countryside between Petworth and Midhurst. The site predates the 17th Century and is mentioned in the Domesday Book. The barn, farmhouse and outbuildings are Grade II listed and this beautiful property is set in stunning gardens with a lake, orchard and woodland.

We want you to have a completely relaxed day, with none of the stress of last-minute setup, so the barn is fully dedicated to your wedding from the day before to 11am the day after your wedding. For a Saturday wedding, that means you have all of Friday to setup and till 11am Sunday to pack up. Tables and chairs are included in the hire price.

The barn seats 120 people comfortably or 250 standing.
We are licensed for civil ceremonies so you can get married at the barn or at a local church.

The barn is a beautiful place to have your ceremony with its high roof and traditional iron chandeliers, which can be adorned with flowers.

Choose to have a roaring fire to greet your guests or specialised lighting to create the atmosphere that you want for your ceremony.

Add music, flowers or candles for the finishing touch. Put simply, you can design the look and feel you want - elegant, romantic or dramatic.

Grittenham Barn at a Glance

Price Range icon
Price Range
£2800 - £4900
Bedroom Count icon
Bedrooms
N/A
Venue Type icon
Type of Venue
Same-Sex Weddings
Historic
Barn
Marquee Weddings
Exclusive Use
Seating Capacity icon
Seated Capacity
Up to 120
Reception Capacity Icon
Reception Capacity
Up to 250
Beautiful ancient barn with outstanding views of the Souths Downs. A blank canvas to decorate as you wish, with candles and flowers. Unique one wedding per weekend, from early Friday until 11am on Sunday. Giving you time to savor the whole experience. Beautiful gardens to roam and two friendly donkeys to chat to! A good number of caterers to choose from to suit your taste. Central fireplace for an open fire. Pricing Category : AffordableMinimum Price : 2800Reception Capacity ( Indoor / Outdoor ) : 250Seated Dining Capacity ( Indoor or Outdoor ) : 120HistoricBarn View More
Wedding Contact : Katherine Number of People In Team : 4No of Weddings Hosted : Number of Weddings Hosted - More Than 50Location : In The CountrysideNearest Town : Petworth Nearest Airport : GatwickNearest Motorway : M23Nearest Train Station : Pulborough 6.2 Miles Haslemere 11.7UniqueAffordableCasualClassicFormalOpen Flame PermittedCeremony LicenceAlcohol LicenseBYOB PermittedTables And Chairs ProvidedCeremony MusicPublic Liability InsuranceDisabled AccessExclusive UseGrade Listed BuildingLandscaped GardensMarquee or Tipi PermittedOnsite ParkingOutdoor SpacePet FriendlyGreat ViewsBlank CanvasLovely GroundsRomanticRusticGarden OutdoorSame-Sex View Less

Current Promotions

Exclusive Promotion:

Enquire further for a discount of £500 off the hire price for Jan, Feb, March and April 2020!

Grittenham Barn Reviews

Add Review
Avg. Rating
5 EXCELLENT
UKbride 5 Heart Rating
22 Reviews
Sort Reviews By
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Jenny O'Neill
Review Date
16 May 2019
Beautiful venue with so much character. Perfect size to cater for a larger wedding while still remaining cosy and homely. The owners and venue manager made us fill at ease from our first visit and were so accommodating throughout the whole process. Any queries we had they got back to us instantly and were very open and relaxed about any extras we wanted for the day! All our guests commented on how gorgeous the barn and grounds were. The cottage on site was brilliant and so convenient. Would highly recommend
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Toby McDonald
Review Date
30 Apr 2019
Grittenham Barn is a wonderful place to get married! The grounds are immaculately kept and the character inside of the barn is beautiful - we were allowed to set up the barn from 9am the day before the wedding which alleviated much of the stress and worry on the day! Nicola, Katherine and the Grittenham team were incredibly helpful from the moment we spotted the barn, answering any of our questions and allowing us to go back to the barn for as many viewings as we wanted. Nicola was there on the day to help the wedding run smoothly too. One of our favourite parts of the barn is the donkeys and other animals. A really great choice for families and animal lovers! On top of all of this, the barn has a cottage in the grounds that couples can stay in after the wedding. It was amazing to wake up at the barn the day after. Again, the cottage is immaculately kept and styled beautifully. A wonderful wedding from start to finish - we would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a beautiful, relaxed place to spend their special day!
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Nick Raymond
Review Date
29 Nov 2018
We had a beautiful wedding in early November 2018 at Grittenham Barn.We chose the barn because it's an utterly beautiful building and hasn't been overly converted in to a wedding venue like some which get a bit twee. Grittenham is a beautiful venue, really rustic and charming.We found throughout the venue and it's owners to be relaxed and laid back as we aimed to be for our wedding. The venue is on a split level with a stunning fireplace dividing the two. It works perfectly as both the venue for the wedding and the reception. They have nice tables and chairs so you won't need to hire these and the venue is so beautiful that it only needs minimal floristry to compliment it well.The kitchen is clean and modern but quite basic (your caterer will need to provide ovens and refrigeration) but it is a rustic barn!The animals outside are a nice touch to keep guests entertained (two donkeys and a couple of pigs) as well as some friendly dogs.The only thing I would say as a slight negative is that we had initially understood there was a bar that was part of the barn. However when we were setting up the wedding we were told that it belonged to the Grittenham bar company who then wouldn't let us use it because we hadn't chosen to have them run a bar for us. So we had to use trestle tables but this was not a big deal for us and didn't really affect the evening but is just worth noting that you may want your caterers to provide a better bar than trestle tables if you don't use their bar company because there is no bar otherwise.The barn is close to Petworth so ideal for guests to stay overnight. Petworth has a whole selection of good bed and breakfasts, we stayed at the Weldiggers arms which was great.Overall we are delighted we chose Grittenham barn and would most certainly recommend it to other couples looking for a beautiful, rustic venue in the middle of a wonderful part of countryside.
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Katharine Hill
Review Date
29 Oct 2018
We had our magical day at the beginning of October and absolutley everything was perfect (even the rain)! Everyone involved with Grittenham Barn were so helpful during the build-up and on the day. I could not recommend the venue more; the barn and the grounds are stunning.
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Toby Fifield
Review Date
29 Oct 2018
Absolutely outstanding! We had our wedding reception here in September which was without doubt one of the best days of our life. The venue itself is stunning, the grounds are maintained to an extremely high standard and the views are unbelievable! We didn’t have the best weather on the day, but with the space available inside the barn, and the use of a small marquee outside, it didn’t have any impact on the day. We visited the barn a number of times before and after we decided to go ahead and book and each time we visited we were greeted by Nicola who was extremely accommodating and patient with us, answering all our questions and alleviating any concerns.We dealt with Katherine mostly on email and over the phone who again was particularly helpful with getting everything organised. Anything we needed to check or ask she was able to assist with and nothing was an issue. Planning a wedding can have its stresses so this kind of “service” makes the whole experience that much more enjoyable.They also have a beautiful little cottage on site which we chose to stay in when the wedding had finished - a real bonus! A massive thanks to everyone at Grittenham Barn for making our day so special!
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
rebecca cowell
Review Date
30 Sep 2018
Absolutely fantastic venue for our wedding in July - Katherine & the team are fantastic, and everything was so straightforward and stress free. A gorgeous venue year round (we visited a few times!) and so glad we chose here to get married!!
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Rob & Hannah Kenny-Allen
Review Date
30 Sep 2018
We had the most incredible wedding at Grittenham Barn in May. The venue is perfect for couples who want control the look, feel and price of their day as Grittenham are really relaxed and helpful. It was also really great that they only hold one wedding per weekend so you have time to set up on Friday and not feel like you're just the next one on the carousel. Katherine helped with all our questions and Mark, the owner, even drove us round in his Land Rover for photos so my dress wouldn't get muddy in the rain! They've also got a brilliant list of approved suppliers who know the venue and help create the perfect day. A big thank you to the Grittenham team!
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Laura Leahy
Review Date
30 Sep 2018
We had the most wonderful day! Grittenham was the perfect setting for our wedding in May. The grounds are wonderfully kept the donkeys, pigs and chickens are just lovely! All of my guests were asking where we found 'this gem'? The cost is a lot lower than similar venues in the local area and is of a much better standard! You are also the only wedding of a weekend so you really do not feel like you are rushed or just the next in a long line of 'rinse and repeat' weddings.Katherine was brilliant help, everything that we asked they accommodated and nothing was a problem. Katherine will always get back to you when you call, even if she can't get to the phone straight away, it was stress free and just brilliant. Thank you so so much, we had such a perfect day!
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Nicola Baker
Review Date
30 Sep 2018
Beautiful venue and amazing wedding had here!
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Rachel O'Brien
Review Date
17 Sep 2018
Our wedding on the 8th of September Grittenham Barn was an absolutely dream. We wanted a venue where we could have pizza as our wedding breakfast and Grittenham Barn met our needs perfectly. Even though it was hard work organizing every single detail ourselves it meant that the day was exactly how we wanted it, from decoration to catering to music, the venue are very relaxed and our day felt so personal. The grounds are stunning, and the animals kept everyone amused, especially the kids! We stayed in the cottage which was great as it meant we were on site that night and the day after to clear everything away. The cottage also had breakfast items provided which was a great bonus. Katherine was fantastic, always on hand via email to help with all of my queries no matter how big or small! Paul was there on the day and was also very friendly and helpful. Lastly we saw the owners a few times, they were also great and so laid back. Mark popped down to a local farm on the day to ask them to put out their fire as it had caused an unpleasant smoke cloud over the venue, they politely did and the air had cleared by the time the ceremony started. The barn is really a magical place, I would recommend it to anyone wanting a laid back and personal wedding! Thanks again x
View More Reviews

Videos

Rachel & Kieran

8th September 2018 Charlie Campey Photography

Jamie & Michelle's Wedding

1st October 2016 Wedding Video Fusion Film

Accreditations

UKbride Approved Supplier
UKbride Approved Supplier

Map

Grittenham Farm, Tillington, Petworth, West Sussex, GU28 0PG

Grittenham Barn

  • Grittenham Farm
  • Tillington
  • Petworth
  • West Sussex
  • GU28 0PG
  • United Kingdom