Great John Street Hotel

Manchester

UKbride 5 Heart Rating
5 EXCELLENT
84 Reviews

Information For Great John Street Hotel

Possibly Manchester’s most urban wedding venue, this original Victorian school house has been transformed into a chic luxury townhouse hotel!

Hosting only a limited number of weddings per year we invite you to take run of the house for your special day. Make sure your wedding day is everything you dreamed and more as you start your story in our characterful exclusive use townhouse. Inside our charming and historic exterior, you’ll discover a venue brimming with individuality, endless luxury and a day that belongs only to you.

Weddings at Great John Street are distinctive and unforgettable. From intimate services to grand celebrations for up to 140 guests, the venue is laden with opportunities for you to create your day, your way. For the nuptials, we have a selection of spaces available to host the ceremony on site. Alternatively, it would be our pleasure to arrange a personal chauffeur to accompany you to and collect you from your preferred destination.

Primly positioned over the treetops of Manchester's fastest growing district resides our elegant Rooftop Lounge & Playground. Chic, luxurious and beautifully-boutique the magic of this truly captivating space is the perfect spot to start your story. Meanwhile on the ground floor sits the Oyster Bar, an elegant two-tier space featuring a collection of spaces and intricacies. From beautiful Venetian railings to a glittering statement chandelier the Oyster Bar is undeniably bursting with character.

Exclusive hire of the venue includes use of all 30 stylish bedrooms & suites filled with charming features, giving your guests a night of relaxed and unrushed luxury after a day of celebrating the two of you!

Great John Street Hotel at a Glance

Price Range icon
Price Range
P.O.A
Bedroom Count icon
Bedrooms
30
Venue Type icon
Type of Venue
City Centre
Exclusive Use
Same-Sex Weddings
Seating Capacity icon
Seated Capacity
Up to 2
Reception Capacity Icon
Reception Capacity
Up to 150
Licensed for civil ceremonies in several areas Informal wedding breakfast to include BBQ's, hog roast or afternoon tea Create your own unique package for Manchester's most urban venue Whatever your special day entails Great John Street is sure to provide the perfect backdrop Accommodate up to 150 guests on the 3rd floor Rooftop Lounge & Playground, which offers views over our beautifully evolving city. Take the venue exclusively for the ultimate, unforgettable house party Pricing Category : LuxuryMinimum Price : 95City Hotel / City VenueLuxuryCeremony LicenceAlcohol License View More
Corkage ChargeBartendingIn House CateringIn House Wine ListBuffet StyleClean UpPre-Wedding ConsultationSeated MealSet UpStaff ProvidedTables And Chairs ProvidedTableware ProvidedTastingsSound Systems Available PackageMaster Of CeremonyCity ViewExclusive UseGrade Listed BuildingIn House Wedding CoordinatorOnsite ParkingRomanticStylishSame-Sex View Less

Top Wedding Tips

Make sure you soak it all up and enjoy the planning process together!

Remember, it’s your day!

Invest in a planner (diary or online) to make sure no detail is forgotten!

Great John Street Hotel Reviews

Add Review
Avg. Rating
5 EXCELLENT
UKbride 5 Heart Rating
84 Reviews
Sort Reviews By
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Philchubby Wood
Review Date
30 Sep 2019
What a great place to get married this hotel is, from the moment we arrived we were looked after so well, nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff, the concierge Steven was amazing what a guy, Adam was in charge of the wedding itself again fantastic and all the staff were great a special mention to Richard on the bar upstairs really friendly guy. The hotel is gorgeous and the food for the wedding delicious as was the breakfast, massive thanks for everything
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Reviewer
Review Date
23 Sep 2019
Where do we begin! We got married GJS a few days ago and it was without doubt the best day of our lives. The staff, the food, the drinks everything was amazing. We have a few special thank you’s! Bronwen, thank you so much for helping
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Jo FarrAr
Review Date
17 Jun 2019
I had the best time here at my wedding! Everything was how we imagined, the staff were extremely professional and attentive and made our day! We can’t thank everyone enough! We thoroughly recommend this as a wedding venue
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Amie Murray
Review Date
01 Mar 2019
My husband and I got married here on 7th Feb and we truly had the most perfect day! We booked our wedding back in August ‘17 so had a long time to contemplate and think on how the day would be. I can honestly say that the team here overlooked literally nothing! As I’m sure all brides do, I was very eager to discuss the smallest of details but nothing was too much trouble for Eleanor in the lead up to the day. On the day, Carole and the rest of the team descreetly buzzed around the place making sure we ran on time and that everyone was happy. Your wedding day is something you will remember forever, and I’m very glad I can say we have been left with nothing but fond memories of our Great John Street wedding. Thank you once again to everyone at the hotel and we will definitely be back to visit very soon x
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Nikita Lyle
Review Date
28 Feb 2019
Had my wedding here and it was perfection from start to finish! This place knows exactly what they are doing. Rooms are amazing and food was top notch! I shall be returning for their afternoon tea as it looks very good.
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Mr & Mrs Skehan
Wedding Date
17 Feb 2019
Massive thank you
Just want to say a massive thank you for all of your help on Sunday and in the run up to the day. We had the best time and loved every minute.
Can’t thank Adam enough for re-building the cake and sorting the music and all of the other things that flew his way! You were amazing, sorry I didn’t get chance to see you on Monday morning before we left.
Thank you all again for making the day run so smoothly, we are truly grateful
Jen and Jamie x
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Mr & Mrs Murray
Wedding Date
07 Feb 2019
Impressed!
We had an absolutely perfect day, cannot fault a thing and it ran so smoothly!
We were so impressed by how every single detail was done to how we’d asked and Carole was very attentive and understanding on the day.
Thank you so much for all your hard work in making our wedding so wonderful and all our guests absolutely loved the venue and enjoyed their stay in the rooms.
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Mrs McKenzie
Wedding Date
26 Jan 2019
Fabulous!
We had an absolutely amazing wedding day and a brilliant stay at the hotel all weekend. The place is beautiful. Wedding was the best day ever and we were very happy with everything on the day. The staff were excellent and we had a perfect day.
We will absolutely return to the hotel for both afternoon tea and to stay over. It’s actually really nice as when we do come again it will feel very special with us getting married there.
Thanks so much for all of your help Eleanor and thanks to all of the team at the hotel for helping to make our wedding day so fabulous.
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
M & Mrs Rowe
Wedding Date
01 Dec 2018
Couldnt have been any better!
To Eleanor
We both had the most perfect day! We can't thank you enough for making everything such a breeze for us, we felt like we were in really safe hands from the very start right through to the end of this whole process and no request has been too big or too small for you and your team to accommodate.
Please also pass on our thanks in particular to Carole and Tamara who were both fantastic on the day and worked really hard to make everything run smoothly.
Thanks again to you and all the staff who were involved in our big day, it really couldn't have been any better.
Mr & Mrs Rowe
UKbride 5.00 Heart Rating
Charlotte Burns
Review Date
29 Nov 2018
We were lucky enough to have picked this beautiful venue for our wedding day. The venue, staff, food and service did not dissapoint, Nothing was too much trouble. Eleanor Smith our wedding planner was amazing from start to finish, we would highly recommend this venue for a very special city centre wedding venue... we can't wait to return for our anniversary.
View More Reviews

Accreditations

UKbride Approved Supplier
UKbride Approved Supplier

Map

Great John Street, Manchester, Greater Manchester, M3 4FD

Great John Street Hotel

  • Great John Street
  • Manchester
  • Greater Manchester
  • M3 4FD
  • United Kingdom

Meet the Wedding Coordinator

Image of Key Person Bronwen Wood
Bronwen Wood

Congratulations on your engagement! If you have any questions about our beautiful property please do get in touch, I'd love to meet with you and show you what this stunning venue has to offer. Look forward to speaking soon, Bronwen