FREE Wedding Table Planner

+ FREE Wedding Budget Planner and more wedding planning tools

Join now free to use

Wedding Forum - I'm new to all this, could really do with...

Not signed in (Sign In)

UKbride Supermarket

* Discount available to Power Users only. Terms and conditions apply. more

• JemmaD42
      CommentAuthorJemmaD42
      edited

Hi, I'm Jemma :) Me and my Fiance have been engaged for just over a year. We have an 18 month old daughter and are hoping to get married in the near future (most likely after we've had another baby). We are both huge film fans and I love the 1950s, we were thinking of a using those "loves" of ours to personalise our wedding day. We have seen a beautiful classic cinema where we could actually have our wedding ceremony in Birmingham but are really struggling with ideas for the reception venue. We would need somewhere that would hold around 90 for the day (adults and children) and about 120 for the evening. We would ideally love burgers/hotdogs/fries/ice cream sundaes for our wedding breakfast (think 1950s American diner) and maybe somthing like pizza and chips for our evening buffet. I'm really struggling at the moment as the thought of a traditional sit down meal with the speeches is not something we want but can't really think of a venue where we wouldn't have to have this. Any tips and/or ideas would be greatly appreciated as I'm slowly driving myself insane with search engines :)
    Thanks x
    • Elinor Claire
      CommentAuthorElinor Claire
      Ticker backgroundIs poweruserJust marriedBadgeBadgeTicker foreground

Could you just find a church or town hall where you can just hire the room? Or if there's a nice garden somewhere you could hire a marquee. Then organise your catering separately.

Members signature icon
    30th August 2014 was the best birthday ever.
    It was the day that I became Mrs. Dixon.

• JemmaD42
      CommentAuthorJemmaD42